Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I use this recipe every time I make banana Cream pie, it is a family favorite. There is no other recipe that can match the flavor of the pudding. Cornstarch and packaged puddings are not nearly as flavorful in my opinion. I give it 5 stars, for the flavor, but I do not understand why you added the step to bake the pie for another 15 minutes. It is not necessary. Instead make sure you cook the pudding for a full 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly, then pour it into the pie shell, cover with a layer of plastic wrap as you would for pudding and let it cool in the refrigerator. I remove the plastic wrap and then cover the whole pie with whipped cream and serve. For those that had a runny pie, it is probably because raw egg yolks have an enzyme that breaks down the thickener. That is why you MUST heat that pudding for the recommended 2-3 minutes in order to kill the enzyme in the egg yolk or they will destroy the thickener and it will be runny. One final note, make sure you use REAL Vanilla extract, not imitation. I use one and a half teaspoons when I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I make this all the time, it is excellent! Be careful to follow the recipe to the T newbies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I would like to add this step to make this a chocolate banana cream pie Melt the chocolate with the 2 tablespoons cream over simmering water in the top of a double broiler or in a heat proof bowl set on top of a saucepan. Whisk the chocolate and cream until they form a smooth liquid. Take the pan off the heat, and spoon the chocolate mixture onto the graham-cracker crust. Let the chocolate cool for at least 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I have been using a similar recipe from the Pillsbury Cookbook for years using 1/4c cornstarch and 3 cups of skim milk. It always turns out perfect so go ahead and use skim milk if you wish. It doesn't affect the consistency of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was my first cream pie and I should of read the reviews first because the pudding did not set up well. I used the flour and maybe did'nt cook it long enough or at a high enough temp.However I made a home pie crust and homemade whipped and the taste of the pie was very good. A little practice with the pudding and I will try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I have been baking pies for years and needed a quick and easy recipe for my overripe bananas!I made my own graham cracker crust and baked it for 8 minutes and let cool. Meanwhile,I made the custard but used a full 1/3 cup of corn starch in lieu of flour. I did not bake the pie as suggested. The custard is wonderful and just the right consistency using the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this pie last summer, but I had found the recipe on another web site and kept it in my recipe file. I am glad to see here, it is truly a wonderful pie. A true refreshing blast from the past dessert. Why buy it when its this easy and affordable to make, again and again and.....well you get the point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbazilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The flavor was good but the pie was really watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Easy, delicious, everyone loved it. I used corn starch in place of flour and did not bake but rather chilled it for several hours. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I am only rating it 4 because I only made the pudding and nothing else. I would the pudding 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States