Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I took the advice of many reviewers and (1) used cornstarch in lieu of flour; (2) used vanilla wafer crust in lieu of pie crust and (3) did not bake it. I cooked the filling on the stove until it was thick & creamy like pudding and assembled as directed. When I took it out of the fridge 6 hours later is was like soup!! I'm not sure why it didn't firm up. Maybe I didn't cook it on the stove long enough or maybe I should have baked it. I usually make a recipe as directed the first time I make it and this is why! I salvaged it by throwing the whole thing (including the crust) into the blender and made great smoothies which I served with whipped cream. The great flavor of the smoothies is why I gave this 4 stars. I would have given it 5 if it came out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Sooo good and rich! Used 1% milk and still set up just fine. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first time ever making pie! For Thanksgiving I decided to make this! It turned out amazing, and was so much fun to make! Very easy to follow the recipe, and was just all around great! I layered the banana slices and the pudding... I used a little smaller pie dish, so I had some left over pudding... The family and I ate that right up! Just amazing! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rezmare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Curlew, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe twice, once with flour and once with cornstarch. I loved the taste, but was not able to get the consistency right. I boiled the heck out of it, and have to wonder if bananas "weep" because what started out fine ended up a soggy mess when it came out of the refrigerator. The taste was great, but I would make individual tart shells instead of serving it as a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonjafrau
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was my first attempt at a cream pie and it turned out fabulously! I followed the directions exactly for the filling and thought it was delicious! (Note: We usually drink skim, but I purposefully bought 2% because some of the other reviews said it helped the filling to be more creamy.) The only things I did differently were to use a pre-made graham cracker crust (because they were on sale) and I whipped up the leftover egg whites with some sugar to make a meringue to put on top. I then baked it for about 12 minutes in a 350 degree oven to brown the meringue. My husband and I both loved the pie and couldn't wait the 3 hours for it to chill before trying a slice. It was great! The only thing I think I'd change is maybe using whipped cream instead of the meringue for more creamy flavor, but that's just because I've never really loved meringue as much as whipped cream (who could!) I will be making this again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonjafrau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I almost didn't make this recipe because there are so many conflicting comments on how it should be made. So, I just went ahead with the recipe as is, although I did substitute flour for cornstarch. I think that the baking helps the bananas break down. We LOVED it, and I will be making it again this week for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This pie was amazing! My first attempt at home-made pudding and it was perfectly set and everything! Thank you so much! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
First I have to address Patti and other who review BEFORE they try the recipe - it is so unfair to the author and to others who rely on the rating system to give a bad rating to a recipe you haven't even tried, just based on your perception of what a recipe will turn out like. Please, if you want to review a recipe, try it yourself first THEN give your thoughts and opinions. As for my thoughts on this recipe, I loved it! You MUST use 2% milk or whole milk, it simply will not turn out if you use 1%, skim, almond milk, soy milk, etc. Those who found it 'soupy' almost certainly tried to make it healthier by using one of these types of milk and you just can't. I also used corn starch in place of the flour and did NOT bake it. So give this recipe a try - it's super delicious! But use the proper ingredients to get these great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I use this recipe every time I make banana Cream pie, it is a family favorite. There is no other recipe that can match the flavor of the pudding. Cornstarch and packaged puddings are not nearly as flavorful in my opinion. I give it 5 stars, for the flavor, but I do not understand why you added the step to bake the pie for another 15 minutes. It is not necessary. Instead make sure you cook the pudding for a full 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly, then pour it into the pie shell, cover with a layer of plastic wrap as you would for pudding and let it cool in the refrigerator. I remove the plastic wrap and then cover the whole pie with whipped cream and serve. For those that had a runny pie, it is probably because raw egg yolks have an enzyme that breaks down the thickener. That is why you MUST heat that pudding for the recommended 2-3 minutes in order to kill the enzyme in the egg yolk or they will destroy the thickener and it will be runny. One final note, make sure you use REAL Vanilla extract, not imitation. I use one and a half teaspoons when I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I make this all the time, it is excellent! Be careful to follow the recipe to the T newbies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States