Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Made this pie twice this month. Once just to try, then another for my mom. i've never made a banana cream pie before so this was a first for me. I usually try a recipe as is first, but after the first pie, although it had great flavor, I made a few small changes. First, I made my own graham cracker crust (another first for me outside of cheesecake) baked and cooled it. Then i used a little cornstarch instead of flour(this was purely a personal prefference, cornstarch just works better for me)and i did not bake this pie either. The eggs cook enough in the saucepan and the pudding is awesome! Then I chilled it for a few hours and right before serving, add a few dollops of whip cream, maybe even a few slivered almonds. This one is definately a keeper, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
looks real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used a spoon that tasted like garlic and so the whole pie did aswell. I will have to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
MMMMMM! what a delicious recipe! I used a vanilla wafer crust: 40 crushed wafers, 1/4 cup melted butter, and approx 2 tbsp sugar....mix together and baked 350 for 9 min. I did use 3 tbsp cornstarch in place of flour, 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk, and 1 tbsp vanilla. I also didn't bake it like like others suggested. I'm adding this to my collection of recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Love this pie. I always use the cornstarch. This is one of my employees favorites and I make it for he bday every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
The recipe need's more egg. it wont set until its been in the oven for at least 35 mins. other then that it was good, another 2 yolks shoud do the trick. and leave out the butter :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
If you're having a hard time getting it to thicken then you should probably scald the milk first before putting it in with the dry ingredients. Scalding the milk helps kill off enzymes that prevent it from thickening in food. Also, use milk that at least has some fat in it. If you use skim milk or milk substitutes, that probably contributes to the problem of soupiness. I used low fat milk, and it worked fine. Mine is not so soupy and stays up for the most part when I cut a slice, but the sides do cave in a little, however I did use a recipe that is exactly like this one in every way except that it used THREE cups of milk, so if I had used just two like this recipe calls for then I imagine it would be more solid. I also let it sit in the fridge overnight so it had a lot of time to set. Besides that, I tried to make it a little healthier by using 1/2 cup organic pure cane and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of white sugar, unbleached flour, earth balance instead of butter, and low fat milk. I'm not sure if any of that helped or hurt the consistency of the filling, but it turned out okay in my opinion. Also, I pureed a couple of bananas in the blender and mixed it in with the pudding to make it more banana-y and it tasted DELICIOUS! Even with all the substitute ingredients it tasted just like store bought pudding. However, because of the sugar I used, the outcome was more brown then yellow. It was still yummy, but not as pretty. It's easy to look past if you want to be healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I did make some changes. I used 1can milk plus 1/2 C of water to make the 2 cups of milk. I also substituded cornstartch for the flour. Cornstarch is tasteless. I only had 2 browing bannanas - but it turned out great. I added all the ingredients and brought to a boil while stirring the entire time. Once the filling bubbles and thickens I took it off the heat, and then added my bannanas to the mixture. I did make a graham cracker crust- using 3C grahams and 4T sugar, with 4T butter and baked at 375 for 10min prior. It was yummy- my husband was craving this, and I use to make it out of Jello- this is much more like what you crave. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aneta96
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
First time making it and it is absolutly delicious! So easy and fun to make my 4yr old helped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneta96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I read other reviews and did not bake it. I used the corn starch instead of flour (I'm gluten intolerant) and it was great. I also used half and half instead of 2% milk and that made a really creamy custard that was rich and wonderful. I topped upon serving with fresh whipped cream. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States