Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My family loves this pie, they insist I make it at every holiday! I would advise you to try the recipe as written. (Maybe bake it for 6 minutes if you concerned about a dry pie). I like it better baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This banana cream pie is absolutely AMAZING!! The first time I made this unforgettable pie, my 4 year old son helped me make it. He loved the pudding mixture that we poured atop the sliced bananas and loved the banana cream pie even more! My husband also raved about it, and honestly, I have never tasted a pie so fresh and having my taste buds screaming for more. We made it again at Christmastime as a thankyou to my son's preschool teachers and all of them also raved about how "it is the most fresh-tasting pie I have ever eaten" (this is a quote from the preschool cooking teacher, who does not dish out compliments freely). I have made this pie a number of times now and am once again preparing it to share with others as this Easter Sunday's dessert. I am confident that it will please all tastebuds and have a feeling I'll be making it for years and years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I would mark this recipe 1000 stars if I could!!! I made this today, and it turned out perfect! This is the first pie I ever made, and followed some recommendations of previous reviews, like using cornstarch or omitting the baking. If you are looking for a sweet pie recipe, this is definitely IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've never made this before. Mom said I should pre-bake the pie crust (plain crust, @ 400, 10 minutes, gently pricking crust bottom & sides w/ a fork beforehand) so I did. Cooled it, used two small bananas (just starting to spot) and one seemingly large, mutant banana not quite ripe (half green/half yellow) Lined the bottom and sides of the baked crust, added the yummy filling, spread it around, did NOT bake it, just chilled overnight. And yes, if you keep stirring this pudding, it will thicken, that's absolutely true, mine was not soupy. Easy to cut, not one droop of gooey mess, the crust on the bottom was actually toasty. My theory is that using ripe or overripe bananas and baking it creates the syrup on the bottom. A delicious 5-star pie, + the added bonus of a homemade vanilla pudding recipe. Family loved it! =:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RookieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
MMM This is OMG out of this world yummy. Thanks Ruby! A couple changes i made: -Fully bake crust before adding bananas and custard -Freeze pie for at least 3hrs instead of baking OR bake approx. 8min and then freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
It's a keeper! When I first read the reviews, I thought "Oh no, everyone is all over the place on this one." Even the submitter wrote flour in the recipe and at the bottom of the recipe a footnote says she really uses cornstarch! Why not just say cornstarch? Oh, what to do? I decide to follow the recipe but not bake it at all. Good choice! It was excellent. *I'm editing already. I would suggest you serve real whip cream on the side, otherwise it only takes a few minutes for it to start running all over the place. Cool-whip won't do that but a lot of people prefer real whipped cream. Thank you so much Ruby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I loved this pie, very flavorful. For everybody who says it was runny must have done something wrong because I followed the recipe to a tee except the I didnt bake it and it was perfect. I used a simple pie crust baked from scratch(really the only way to go). Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Be patient with the pudding, give it time to thicken up and don't stop stirring. You will not be disappointed. As others suggest, do NOT bake. I also added 1/2tsp of banana extract and used frozen cool whip to top it all off. This is definitely a favourite go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used cornstarch instead of flour and a vanilla bean pod (cooked with mixture then split and scraped seeds into mixture along with egg yolks) instead of vanilla extract, and a graham crust. If anything will use a smidgen less cornstarch as mine turned out very thick... but good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 922) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States