Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
What on earth!? It never thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe is amazing. Simple and fast. I was going to use cornstarch because it was so highly recommended in the user reviews but I didn't have any, So I used flour and it still came out smooth and delicious. Oh and plz make sure you consistently stir the mixture while cooking it. It does take longer then 5 mins though. I think it was more like 12 mins. Oh and to make sure its not soupy or runny cook mixture till it looks like pudding. Another thing make sure mixture is cooled before putting it in the crust. Oh and I stirred in half of a banana into the custard mixture, which I think made it even more delicious. Oh and plz use homemade whip cream. It's so simple , just use 2 cups heavy whipping cream , use an electric mixer. Mix on high till the cream is thick and looks like cool whip. Then you can mix in 2 to 3 tablespoons of confectioners sugar. I like mine sweet. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
WORST RECIPE EVER!!! This was beyond soupy, it was so watery that I had to throw it out. Not only that, but I spent an hour cleaning out my oven from the drip page, and later my refrigerator after trying to salvage it by chilling it. The mixture dripped so much that I had to throw out a ton of stuff in my refrigerator. Not worth the agony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It would certainly be easier to throw some bananas in a premade crust, and pour some boxed pudding over it...but it wouldn't be anything close to this. This is like banana pudding in pie form. I even made a vanilla wafer crust (1 1/2 cups crushed wafer, 6 TBL melted butter, cooked for 5 minutes at 350)...also worth the effort. Personal preference for those that don't want to be overwhelmed with banana, I used TWO bananas that were laid out evenly on the bottom. That was plenty of banana for us. I cooked the pudding more than the video shows, where it was already getting thicker. I did bake for about half the recipe time without a problem. It just helped set it up better. Homemade whipped cream is so much better than packaged topping. I will use this to make a coconut cream pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
did not begin to set up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I think I overcooked the pie crust, though (pre-baked it a liiiitle too long, methinks.) Absolutely love the pudding, made some this morning for myself as a treat (the pie was gone so quickly last night!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This pie did not make it through the chilling process because my family devoured it! It tasted awesome a little warm. The only thing I did differently is I used 1 1/2 full egg instead of just three yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I think that you don't need to bake it otherwise the bananas turn really dark. Also, it would be better to mix a puree of bananas into the pudding but it certainly does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Like everyone else, I used cornstarch to prepare the pudding, not flour. I also only added 1/2 cup sugar as we don't like things too sweet in our house. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty good. Personally, I think it tasted too strong of vanilla - but that is more of a personal preference thing. Otherwise, everything came together great and my family enjoyed the pie. I did follow someone's tip to dip the bananas in lemon juice (which I diluted in club soda as I thought it would make the banana too lemony!) - I think that should be an added step in this recipe; oh and I didn't bake it! That is the main reason I'm taking off a star - banana cream pie should not be baked and that just sounds like a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States