Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
WORST RECIPE EVER!!! This was beyond soupy, it was so watery that I had to throw it out. Not only that, but I spent an hour cleaning out my oven from the drip page, and later my refrigerator after trying to salvage it by chilling it. The mixture dripped so much that I had to throw out a ton of stuff in my refrigerator. Not worth the agony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It would certainly be easier to throw some bananas in a premade crust, and pour some boxed pudding over it...but it wouldn't be anything close to this. This is like banana pudding in pie form. I even made a vanilla wafer crust (1 1/2 cups crushed wafer, 6 TBL melted butter, cooked for 5 minutes at 350)...also worth the effort. Personal preference for those that don't want to be overwhelmed with banana, I used TWO bananas that were laid out evenly on the bottom. That was plenty of banana for us. I cooked the pudding more than the video shows, where it was already getting thicker. I did bake for about half the recipe time without a problem. It just helped set it up better. Homemade whipped cream is so much better than packaged topping. I will use this to make a coconut cream pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
did not begin to set up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I think I overcooked the pie crust, though (pre-baked it a liiiitle too long, methinks.) Absolutely love the pudding, made some this morning for myself as a treat (the pie was gone so quickly last night!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This pie did not make it through the chilling process because my family devoured it! It tasted awesome a little warm. The only thing I did differently is I used 1 1/2 full egg instead of just three yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I think that you don't need to bake it otherwise the bananas turn really dark. Also, it would be better to mix a puree of bananas into the pudding but it certainly does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Like everyone else, I used cornstarch to prepare the pudding, not flour. I also only added 1/2 cup sugar as we don't like things too sweet in our house. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty good. Personally, I think it tasted too strong of vanilla - but that is more of a personal preference thing. Otherwise, everything came together great and my family enjoyed the pie. I did follow someone's tip to dip the bananas in lemon juice (which I diluted in club soda as I thought it would make the banana too lemony!) - I think that should be an added step in this recipe; oh and I didn't bake it! That is the main reason I'm taking off a star - banana cream pie should not be baked and that just sounds like a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great taste, rich pudding and fairly easy to make. Loved it. Didn't solidify really but I ignored the bake in the oven step. I will use this recipe again for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I used the Nilla wafer crust as another writer/chef suggested and it was fabulous! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 897) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States