Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This pie did not make it through the chilling process because my family devoured it! It tasted awesome a little warm. The only thing I did differently is I used 1 1/2 full egg instead of just three yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I think that you don't need to bake it otherwise the bananas turn really dark. Also, it would be better to mix a puree of bananas into the pudding but it certainly does taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Like everyone else, I used cornstarch to prepare the pudding, not flour. I also only added 1/2 cup sugar as we don't like things too sweet in our house. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is and it was pretty good. Personally, I think it tasted too strong of vanilla - but that is more of a personal preference thing. Otherwise, everything came together great and my family enjoyed the pie. I did follow someone's tip to dip the bananas in lemon juice (which I diluted in club soda as I thought it would make the banana too lemony!) - I think that should be an added step in this recipe; oh and I didn't bake it! That is the main reason I'm taking off a star - banana cream pie should not be baked and that just sounds like a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great taste, rich pudding and fairly easy to make. Loved it. Didn't solidify really but I ignored the bake in the oven step. I will use this recipe again for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I used the Nilla wafer crust as another writer/chef suggested and it was fabulous! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this pie for a New Year's Day dinner. I used the a vanilla wafer crust recipe which I brushed lightly with an egg white wash before baking to prevent the crust from becoming soggy after filling it. I used whole milk and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of flour and it thickened up great. I did not bake this pie as many reviewers mentioned and it turned out great. After cooking, I placed the mixture in the frig and sealed it with saran wrap to prevent it from developing a skin. Once cooled, I layered it with the bananas in the cooled crust. I also topped it with homemade whipped cream. It received rave reviews and I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was 5 stars because it was easy and delicious. I'm no cook and have never made filling from scratch, but I read the reviews and took heed to make sure I cooked the filling long enough. I also used the Nilla Wafer pie crust that was suggested, which was a nice complement to the banana. I'll note that when I started making it, I realized I didn't have any vanilla extract, so I cooked and stirred until my husband got back from the store. Likely for this reason, I didn't have the problem with the filling being thin that others have noted. I filled the whole crust with the bananas and just filled the pie crust afterwards (in hind sight, I should have layered a little more as there were some nana bits that were not part of the "pudding"). I DID NOT cook it, and am glad for that information. It was perfect just chilled and we added topping before eating it. Great recipe which I will try again! Thanks for an easy, delicious Christmas dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Hamilton
Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this pie for christmas dinner. i followed the directions and used cornstarch instead of flour. it turned out perfectly and was wonderful. will try it using the vanilla wafer crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very creamy ! I added 2 additional tsp of cornstarch just to make sure it will set solid. Make sure to chill overnight and this will be addictive indulgence for any occasion ! I also use Graham pre-baked crust and that was so yummy ! THanks for such awesome recipe !! I'm thinking of other exotic fruits to be made into pies. Hope someone has some suggestions. @@GIVEMEABREAK Jun. 17, 2002 423 Maybe I should even review this recipe, since I haven't eaten the pie yet. I can't. Its so runny, it looks like soup. I'm not even sure I'll try it because it looks disgusting. What did I do wrong? WHY is this pie so runnY?? => I would suggest to use cornstarch added to your hot mix. Also, do not eat right away...let it cool, then refrigerate it over night !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FongLuu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States