Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've never made this before. Mom said I should pre-bake the pie crust (plain crust, @ 400, 10 minutes, gently pricking crust bottom & sides w/ a fork beforehand) so I did. Cooled it, used two small bananas (just starting to spot) and one seemingly large, mutant banana not quite ripe (half green/half yellow) Lined the bottom and sides of the baked crust, added the yummy filling, spread it around, did NOT bake it, just chilled overnight. And yes, if you keep stirring this pudding, it will thicken, that's absolutely true, mine was not soupy. Easy to cut, not one droop of gooey mess, the crust on the bottom was actually toasty. My theory is that using ripe or overripe bananas and baking it creates the syrup on the bottom. A delicious 5-star pie, + the added bonus of a homemade vanilla pudding recipe. Family loved it! =:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RookieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
MMM This is OMG out of this world yummy. Thanks Ruby! A couple changes i made: -Fully bake crust before adding bananas and custard -Freeze pie for at least 3hrs instead of baking OR bake approx. 8min and then freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
It's a keeper! When I first read the reviews, I thought "Oh no, everyone is all over the place on this one." Even the submitter wrote flour in the recipe and at the bottom of the recipe a footnote says she really uses cornstarch! Why not just say cornstarch? Oh, what to do? I decide to follow the recipe but not bake it at all. Good choice! It was excellent. *I'm editing already. I would suggest you serve real whip cream on the side, otherwise it only takes a few minutes for it to start running all over the place. Cool-whip won't do that but a lot of people prefer real whipped cream. Thank you so much Ruby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I loved this pie, very flavorful. For everybody who says it was runny must have done something wrong because I followed the recipe to a tee except the I didnt bake it and it was perfect. I used a simple pie crust baked from scratch(really the only way to go). Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Be patient with the pudding, give it time to thicken up and don't stop stirring. You will not be disappointed. As others suggest, do NOT bake. I also added 1/2tsp of banana extract and used frozen cool whip to top it all off. This is definitely a favourite go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used cornstarch instead of flour and a vanilla bean pod (cooked with mixture then split and scraped seeds into mixture along with egg yolks) instead of vanilla extract, and a graham crust. If anything will use a smidgen less cornstarch as mine turned out very thick... but good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. Whenever I make a few of these pies I always make extra pudding just because my husband and I love it so much. I never bake this pie - definitely only put it in the fridge - and I've found that adding some home-made whipped cream and pecans to the top makes it even more delicious. Easily the best banana cream pie I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Yum! This pie is really good! The first time I made this pie, I followed the directions to a T. It came out good and sliced beautifully but, I felt that there wasn't enough pudding compared to all the bananas. Also, the bananas turned brown fairly quickly. The second time, I used only three bananas and mixed it into the pudding before putting in the pie shell and I did NOT bake it. I just refrigerated it overnight. This time around my bf and I enjoyed the taste/balance of the pudding and bananas much better. Mixing it together also prevented the bananas from turning brown. The only problem was that this pie did not set as good as the first one I had baked. By the way, I did not have any problems with my pudding being too runny. I agree with the other reviewers, you probably did not cook it long enough. I also used whole milk for best results. Next time I'll continue to mix the pudding and bananas before filling the pie and bake it..or if I don't bake it, I'll use the cornstarch suggestion instead. Either way, this is a great recipe to start from and just tweak however you like. I added a dulce de leche drizzle on top along with some toasted coconut. Yummy combination! My family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
flavor was outstanding, followed recipe exactly, but for some reason, it didn't set right. i'm sure it was my error, oh well, still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States