Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Me and my husband made it and we did not like it very much. It was too runny and kinda way too sweet. But thank you for sharing the recipe , we like to try new things! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Ok, this pie is amazing! I read a lot of reviews and was about to use cornstarch and not bake it until I read a different review. She said this is not instant pudding... this is a french method, DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING and bake it. She was right. I think that for the people that came out with a runny pie, they either were using skim milk, or were not patient enough during the stirring part. If you follow exactly what she says to do (i pre-measured everything and had it ready beforehand) and add things exactly when she says to, it will come out extremely thick. It takes constant stirring at medium heat for a while before the edge will begin to bubble. Once that happens, thats when you continue to stir for 2 minutes and remove from heat, add a little to the egg, pour egg mixture back into pot and cook for a further 2 mins etc... After i finished making it, i let it cool completely. i used a chilled graham cracker pie crust i made and lined it with sliced bananas. I stirred in another sliced banana into the mixture and poured that on top. I then baked it as it said and that only helped it set and brought out an aroma! smelled delicious. i let it cool completely and it put back in fridge until ready to serve. I then decorated top with sliced bananas around the rim like in the picture. I served with freshly made whipped cream. It tasted like something out of a french bakery and I'm no baker! It is perfect the way the recipe is... no need to change anything, DO bake it, and no need
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I did not bake this at all. And I used a graham cracker crust instead. It came out great. My siblings agreed that it put up a challenge to Bakers Square's Banana Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leyashwermar
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
One word. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
In all fairness I don't even like banana pie, but nobody in the house liked this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qnkelly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was so easy to make. I used Kate's vanilla wafer crust and added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch like carthecook added in her rating. Thanks to you both my pie turned out great! My picky four-year-old loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So easy!! The most delicious banana cream pie I've ever had. My family was delighted. I will definitely try Kate's suggestion for the Nila wafer crust next time. For those of you with runny or soupy pie, try these two suggestions: 1. Have a cocktail before you cook. 2. Try Schwans.com or run to Marie Callender's. I am by no means a great cook and I found this recipe to be so easy. Relax when you cook it should be fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Harris
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
LOVED this recipe!! I've made it for my hubby many times and it's his favorite. I have also made it dairy & soy free replacing milk and butter with Almond milk and Earth Balance butter since I have allergies and it still turned out absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Harris
Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe out a couple of times (I used the cornstarch one) and my family loved it! Substituting the bananas with things like 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder or adding coconut doesn't change how well this works! My favorite was putting in the cocoa with baking chocolate chips! It is an amazing thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was so good and a huge hit with my family. Due to lactose intolerance in my house, I used unsweetened original almond milk. Other than that, I followed the recipe's ingredients with the flour, yolks, vanilla, etc. I skipped the baking as advised by other reviewers. It was not runny at all! Will def. be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States