Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Super yummy. I did use 3 TBSP of cornstarch instead of flour. The key is to cook the pudding mixture until it is thick and bubbly. I also made a Nilla wafer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
It was perfect and so delicious, just read and follow readers directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Okay to thicken the custard add 1 1/2 cup of milk this is a Great recipe, this is my second time making it with graham cracker crust. Once I made into a pie and the second time I made shooters! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This pie was just OK to my family. Made exactly as directed. I prefer my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My husband has declared this his favorite pie in the world! I made it for his birthday and met rave reviews! Highly recommend. I followed other's recommendations of using starch and not baking the pie, and it was seriously wonderful. I topped it with a sweet-rum sauce, and it was seriously fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I've made this pie twice. The first time it was absolutely out of this world! Best banana cream pie I've ever had. It was so good that I served it at a dinner party. This time I made two - one with Splenda, and one with regular white sugar. The one with Splenda had a funny taste to it, but it set up very nicely. The flavor could have been from the Splenda, but I've never had a funny taste from that. The sugar one was soupy, but I was told that it had a much better flavor than the other. I don't know what I did wrong. Maybe I didn't cook it enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Thanks to comments I didn't bake. This is the FIRST time I have made pudding & I'm a senior! I couldn't believe how easy it was. Might use less sugar next time. This was so much better than the ones using Jello pudding mix that I made when the kids were little. Going to try cocoanut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Awesome after considering the reviews and recommendations of everybody else! The pie doesn´t need to be baked if instead of flour you use the 3 tbspn of corn starch! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The bananas turned brown and mushy within hours of making the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I have to honest, I was a little intimidated to make this because I didn't want banana soup. The bad reviews worried me. After reading through about 75 reviews and 2 days later, I went for it. Only thing I did after reading reviews is, cooked the custard for longer until it got to a nice thick consistency. I added diced banana to the custard and I DID NOT bake it. I only baked the crust. I used everything else the recipe called for. My family loooooooooved it and want me to make another. Success! I am an amateur as baking too. I don't do this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States