Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Easiest pie I've ever made. (Besides cook and serve, which is totally cheating and doesn't even stack up.) Definitely use 3 Tablespoons of cornstarch in place of the flour, use whole milk if you have it, and unless you want to ruin the pie, DO NOT BAKE IT! I dowsed my 2 bananas on hand with lemon juice, and patted them dry before putting them on the bottom of the crust. Crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AL Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is the best custard in this pie and it was so easy to make, I added a little coconut with the bananas before pouring the custard. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
So quick and easy. I used a Graham cracker crust. Definitely going to make it a go to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This turned out great. Today, Easter, is my first attempt at making this type of pie from scratch. I was surprised, even after reading the reviews at how easy it was to make. I only strayed from the recipe in that I used the corn starch suggestion instead of flour and I increased the amount of banana to five instead of four. I also stirred the sliced banana into the custard mixture instead of over it. I didn't bake the pie but put it straight into the fridge as most reviewers suggested. The filling was very thick and seemed to hold together well even while hot for me. I didn't have any "soupy" problems that some reviewers had. I tasted the filling before filling the crust. It was amazing even hot and I can't wait to serve it for dessert tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Just like Grandmas. I made two...One in a graham cracker shell with bananas and vanilla wafers. That was REALLY good :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Easy and very good, I did use a vanilla wafer crust ( just being Lazy). Topped with whipped cream to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This recipe was amazing it tastes just like a homemade banana pudding in a pastry shell!! And it is super easy to make. So simple so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made a triple-batch (3 pies) and they came out beautifully! Delicious pudding, great instructions. I did use cornstarch. Remember to temper the eggs like the recipe says (add a bit of hot mixture to the eggs) or they will "scramble" when added to the mixture. I did reduce the sugar from 2 1/4 to 2 cups when making three pies. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Loved it, have made it a few times. It always turns out great. I even made it into a chocolate pie a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this for Pi day, delicious and easy! Took the advice of other reviewers and did not cook the pie. I used flour not corn starch and a graham cracker crust, topped it with whipped cream. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States