Banana Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted almond milk for whole milk. I'd read this would keep the pudding/custard from thickening without the casein in milk. To offset this, I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt (a dairy product I thought might have casein). Fearing that was not enough, in lieu of 3 tablespoons flour, I added 1.5 tablespoons rice flour, 4 tablespoons corn starch and 1.5 tablespoons tapioca starch. The end result was a pretty good pudding texture that everyone loved, so it worked, but next time I might try to simplify my substitutions, rather than taking this "kitchen sink" approach. Oh, I also blended a ripe banana with the 4 cups of almond milk so the custard filling would have some banana flavor and I liked the result of that. Lastly, I did not bake this, I had just finished a no-bake strawberry pie that followed similar steps and assumed this was same way. So I layered my sliced bananas (tossed first with a bit of lemon juice) in pre-baked shell, poured in the custard (after letting it cool for 2-3 hours in fridge) and then the remaining bananas artistically set into the top, then the whole thing put in freezer for an hour (to speed up it "setting"), then in fridge for 5-6 hours, then served. No baking after bananas were in the pie. Turned out great, good texture and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this for my grandson who loves banana cream pie. He and the rest of the family enjoyed this immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was good, but way too sweet. I'd cut the sugar in half next time. I did have to bake it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for, too. Not sure if my oven is cool or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I made a double batch. It was very soupy (the bottom bananas ended up floating before baking, and it was soupy after chilling too), and a little floury, but I scooped it up into mugs with whipped cream and the boys loved it anyway. Barely fit in the 9 inch deep dish pie tin, with only one layer of bananas. I couldn't get four bananas in one tin without it almost overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeyrCat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was so yummy! I used 4 TBS of cornstarch instead of flour like someone suggested. I also used 2% milk. It could have been thicker but it was still good. I also cut the sugar in 1/2. It was really sweet enough this way. I will make this again. I used a simple graham cracker crust recipe which went well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My neighbor gave me a stalk of bananas from his tree. I froze some for my Yonanna machine but still had a ton left over. I searched for a pie and came upon this recipe. I followed the clear, detailed directions exactly! I used the 3 T of corn starch instead of the flour and I did make the vanilla wafer crust. I made 2 pies and they were both gobbled up by all of my neighbors that wanted a taste. They were perfect & flavorful. The bananas were delicious since they were freshly picked making this extra tasty. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This pie is amazing!! I searched for a long time for a recipe with a homemade custard and finally found this one. Make exactly like the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is my go to banana pudding recipe, I make this A LOT because this is my sons all time favorite dessert and since he is 13, he eats a lot. Using only flour works for me, the pudding thickens up with no problem. Tempering the egg yolks is essential. I think the the trick to this recipe like any other recipe wether cooking or baking is technique. It does not matter if the recipe is followed to the t, technique has to be aquired. I don't bake the pie at the end, I just let the pudding cool on the pie crust otherwise it will get too gelatinous like and firm and we like the pudding consistency. One thing that may help with getting the pudding to thickening up is whisking, as soon as the milk is poured on the dry ingredients, do not stop whisking until it starts to bubble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Super yummy. I did use 3 TBSP of cornstarch instead of flour. The key is to cook the pudding mixture until it is thick and bubbly. I also made a Nilla wafer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 898) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States