Banana Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was very easy and turned out better than I expected. I was using this to frost cupcakes and was worried about it being too runny. I made this about 8 hours before frosting the cupcakes and I let it sit in the fridge to thicken. I didn't have any rum, so I used a little rum extract instead. It turned out to be a creamy frosting with lots of banana flavor, and it didn't run off my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I used this recipe as a cake filling and it came out great! I added butterscotch to give it even more flavor! I mixed together 1/2 of a 3.4 oz banana cream pudding mix package, 1 whole banana, 1/4 cup whole milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and about 15 butterscotch morsels (melted), and 4oz cool whip. I whipped everything together, and used it to fill a 9 inch square yellow cake with plain butter cream frosting. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Freetown, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wonderful frosting! I only added 1/2 cup milk and used a tsp of vanilla instead of the rum. I have been looking for a frosting for banana cake that doesn't start with icing sugar....and this fits the bill. This is so nice and creamy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I was looking for a really easy frosting recipe for my students to make in a ziploc bag so they could decorate cupcakes. I left out the rum and used about a tsp. of vanilla and reduced the milk to 2/3 cup. It was perfect! The kids (2 and 3 year olds) were easily able to mix it in a bag and it tasted great! Not too sugary...very light and fluffy. Will make again and again! Will try different flavors of pudding, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
It's got a nice mild banana flavor. Not authentic banana since most of its flavor comes from the pudding mix, but it's nice nonetheless. Reducing the milk by half it still wasn't quite as thick as most people would want. Combine the liquid ingredients (milk/rum) last and add as much as you need to get the consistency you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hedelian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I love this frosting, I use it as a filling. I add an extra banana and cut back on the milk, I add 3/4 cup and I skip the rum. I've received many compliments on this recipe, including from my daughter who said " you make the best banana frosting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a simple yet delicious frosting. I even used it in the kripsy and kreamy doughnut recipe I found on here. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS FROSTING I PUT IT ON THE STRAWBERRY CAKE FROM SCRATCH AND IT WENT TOGETHER GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I used others people's suggestions and cut back on the amount of milk and the frosting came out perfect!!!! It's light, and airy and full of banana flavor. I am using this frosting on my banana cake recipe, I can not wait to try it on my cake.(I always make my cakes the day before and let the ingredients settle before adding my filling) This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing such an easy, great tasting recipe. My only regret is that I can not give it more stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I love this recipe! I needed something quick and easy for a picky husband and found this. I substituted regular rum with Cap't Morgans Spiced Rum (because it was only one I had) but it tastes sooo good!. I used it as a topping for banana cupcakes then garnished with star fruit, strawberries and kiwi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States