Banana Cream Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent! I made this for a bridal shower (the bride-to-be loves bananas) and it was a hit with all the guests. However, I had challenges with the topping ... is the gelatin mixture supposed to be cool, cold or set? I used it cold (not set) and mixed it into my whipped topping ... which then became very soft, almost liquid. I stuck this in the freezer to chill it again and after some time, was able to spread it on the cheesecake. It tasted fine, looked fine ... but I am still confused if there is a better way to make the final topping. However, anyone who loves bananas and cheesecake will enjoy this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
absolutely wonderful - everyone raved about this - i made it for my husband for his birthday and he could not eat enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
This is an outstanding cheesecake. The only change I made to the recipe was in the crust due a personal preference. I just buttered the pan and rolled vanilla wafer crumbs around the inside of the pan till it was lightly coated and didn't bake the crust. Cake got rave reviews from about 25 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Fabulous recipe! hyatttm included every step to prepare this cheesecake, making it easier for anyone who has never before tried to make a cheesecake. It came out perfect, the best consistency of any I’ve made! I was a bit intimidated by the topping recipe, but I’m glad I tried it. It was easier than I expected, came out perfect, and completely changed the experience of eating this delicious dessert. The cheesecake itself is very rich and dense, but the topping adds a light creaminess that allows you to come up for air and then dive back into that intoxicating richness. Banana flavor was not overpowering, but definitely present. Everyone loves it! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent. Everyone, about 15 people, absolutely loved it. The only change I made was to use vanilla bean instead of extract in the topping. To do this you have to cook the bean with the milk and strain it for any bean strings before adding to the the egg yolk mixture. I too found the topping to be a bit runny but it did set up once it was chilled through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
If you like bananas and banana desserts, you will love this cheesecake. I only made the crust and the cheesecake (no topping) and used 4 bananas and no banana liqueur. Before serving, I topped the cheesecake with a layer of caramel and sprinkled with ground walnuts. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious! Softer/mushier than baked cheesecakes usually are, which is how I like it. I used graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers because that's what I had available. Like another reviewer suggested, I used the banana butter icing recipe on this site as topping to avoid the unflavored gelatin and heavy cream. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I love this recipe, i double the crust and add mini chocolate chips, i dont use the topping, but this is a great cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This tasted just delicious. I used fat free graham crackers and fat free cream cheese, and you couldn't tell! I was unable to find unflavored gelatin, so I used some strawberry-banana gelatin and although it made the cream pink, it was great!! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Absolutely loved it. Reminded me of Cheesecake Factory. The only thing I changed was I added more vanilla wafers (almost tripled the original portion) and took the walnuts out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States