Banana Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe! It was a huge hit with my co-workers and friends! It's a little involved to make and I was nervous when it first turns "blue". But in the end it all came together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I changed the recipe by using 1 C sugar, 1 stick of butter, 5 ripe bananas - what I had on hand, 1 t nutmeg, and pecans instead of walnuts. I also added 1/4 C of crasins, which I had on hand, and made muffins instead of loaves. The recipe makes 36 muffins baked at 350 degrees for 35 minutes until golden brown, maybe a bit longer would be better - watch for doneness. After cooling, I wrapped each muffin in plastic wrap and gave them to neighbors as a Christmas gift. Recipe was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
EXCELLENT base recipe. Thanks for the start! bananas and cranberries -- what an awesome combination! The result is a kind of "spice bread." I think that the nutmeg is key!! Here's my healthier version. Note: bananas -- Using VERY RIPE ones, and more of them, gives the moisture AND sweetness. Banana Cranberry Bread 2 1/2 c. sugar --> reduce to 3/4 c. sugar 1 c. shortening -- eliminate this entirely 3 eggs 3 mashed bananas --> increase to 10 VERY RIPE (brown) mashed bananas 1 c. cranberry sauce --> substitute 1 bag = 12 oz. whole cranberries instead 1 orange, peeled and mashed -- ADD this 1/2 cup milk 1 t. vanilla extract 4 c. all-purpose flour --> substitute 3 c. self-rising flour 1 1/2 t. baking soda 1 1/2 t. baking powder 1 t. ground cinnamon 1/2 t. ground nutmeg --> increase to 1 t. ground nutmeg 1/2 c. chopped walnuts 2 loaf pans (9x5") --> 3 loaf pans 350 for 50--60 m --> 40 m (less cooking time means more moistness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was GREAT! Made it for our Mother's Day get together. I never use shortening and always sub it with sour cream, I also used a whole can of whole cranberry sauce. I also made one loaf with nuts, the other without. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Tastes more like pumpkin muffins than banana bread, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is a very nice change to typical banana bread. It has a strong banana flavor and the cranberries made me feel I was eating somewhat healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I made the cranberry sauce in this recipe from scratch (http://christmas.allrecipes.com/az/CranberrySauce.asp) and even though the sauce was very tasty, I couldn't taste any trace of cranberries in this bread. I do believe the cranberry sauce makes it more moist, though, as it was VERY moist! I made 4 mini loaves and 1 regular loaf in stone pans, and I may bake at 325 next time; the "crust" was sort of hard. also, I put 1 cup walnuts instead of 1/4 cup, and I could have stood more!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
The flavors of cranberry and banana didn't work together as well as I expected -- it felt strange to be eating sweet banana bread and suddenly hit a pocket of tart cranberry. I didn't include the walnuts -- maybe the flavors work better together when nuts are included too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Good! Very good- much better than plain banana bread. Everyone liked it. I used canned whole cranberry sauce but made sure to add it last and give it only a few mixes so the whole bread wouldn't turn pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States