Banana Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Only changes I made was use half butter/half margerine and omit the walnuts. (I didn't have any.) This worked out perfectly for me. Took a bit longer to bake and I had to place a piece of foil over the loaves to keep them from burning, but that really wasn't an issue for me. The loaves were really fluffy, but I think that's because I took the time to beat the fats in with the sugars before adding the other liquid ingredients. I also alternated the milk in with the dry ingredients when adding them in. I made these for Dustin's pool league members. I'll update again when I know how they liked it. EDITED 08/18/08: This was a hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Oh so good! I only had 1-1/2 bananas, so I halved the recipe. Because there was plenty of juice in my whole cranberry sauce, I didn't add the milk. Used butter instead of shortening and 1/2 cup each of brown sugar & white sugar--it was plenty sweet. Next time (and when they're in season!) I'll use whole cranberries. The taste & texture is moist and tender like regular banana bread, and the cranberry flavor is not pronounced, but it adds a definite flavor boost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Used butter instead of shortening, added more walnuts and cranberries. Otherwise made according to recipe. I made this recipe and a chocolate chip banana bread recipe, thinking my husband would like that more. He actually liked this one better. Very moist and declicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe is delicious. It makes much more than regular banana bread recipes do. I split mine up into two cake pans because I ran out of baking loaves (baked about 40 minutes) I made my own cranberry sauce to cut down on the sugar. This recipe is super moist and perfect for sharing with lots of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is really good. For the cranberry sauce I used the Cranberry Gelatin Salad by Sharon Wolfe that is on this site. Other than that followed directions. I didn't have any 9x5 inch loaf pans, but did have 9x3 and it made 3 perfect loafs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
very good. I had to substitute oil for shortening, I used splenda instead of sugar and I used fresh cranberries instead of cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I cut the recipe in 1/2....but doubled the cranberry and banana's. This came out moist and delicious...and has left people at work begging for the recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Just fantastic - I left out the nutmeg and walnuts, and used butter instead of shortening. Really moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was a nice change from traditional banana bread, although i didn't even taste that much banana in this one. if you get a banana bread craving, this might not quite satisfy it, but i definitely would try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I wanted to do just one loaf so I changed the recipe as follows: 1 cup sugar, ½ cup margarine, 1 egg, 2 large bananas, 1 cup cranberry sauce, NO milk, about 1½ TBS orange juice (half of an orange), 1 tsp vanilla, 2 cups flour, just under a tsp of both baking soda and powder, 1/4 tsp cinnamon (got allergies in the house), a couple good shakes of nutmeg, and around ½ cup walnuts. The batter was pink when I put it in the oven, and it came out sort of a purpley-tinged baked loaf color. That's fine, I KNOW there's cranberries in it! If it offends people, they don't have to eat it... Oh, and it took closer to 75 minutes to bake. I increased the temperature to between 350 and 375 after an hour and, luckily, the top didn't overbrown. If it does seem to be browning too quickly, try covering it with foil. A great way to use up cranberries and yet the bananas took away some of the over-tart flavor. Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States