Banana Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made this bread for Thanksgiving company and they raved about it, although I personally would lighten up on the nutmeg and cinnamon -- I thought the spices were a bit overpowering and got in the way of the banana flavor. Next time I think I will skip those spices and simply use vanilla extract. I used homemade cranberry sauce (cranberries, OJ and sugar), which worked well, and doubled the nuts. The bread was very moist. My mother made me promise to make this recipe again for Christmas, so I suspect it is going to become a tradition for us. Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Although the idea was good, there was too much white flour and white sugar, plus the recipie was too large for an ordinary loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband (who hates cranberries!), loved this recipe. I used homemade cranberry sauce (recipe on this site, Cranberry Sauce I submitted by Toni) and while the actual cranberry sauce was excellent, I have to agree with other reviewers that there didn't seem to be enough cranberries. Should consider adding some whole cranberries next time. I substituted margarine for the shortening and made them into muffins instead of loaves. Worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I couldn't believe the response I got from this recipe. People raved over its moistness and that it wasn't too sweet. I baked it in a 13x9x2 pyrex pan, and just slices the pieces in small sample sizes. A great way to use up those bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
My first batch did not come out very well, but after I altered the cranberry sauce component to include equal parts of jelly and whole cranberries (as opposed to the first batch where I purposely picked out the whole berries only), doubled the amount of cinammon and watched my baking time more closely (remember, the 50-60 minutes cooking time is for 9x5 loaves, and I was making smaller ones) it came out pretty good. I personally did not like it, but my husband and a lot of family liked it and even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
loved it. It was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This is the BEST bread I have ever made! EVERY one of my guests loved it, and two even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This is the BEST bread I have ever eaten! I put the chunky cranberry sauce in and my husband and I loved it. Thank you Linda! This is my number one bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Absolutely delicious. I was looking for a recipe for moist Cranberry-Orange bread. This was it. The first time I make a new recipe I try to make the original recipe but this time after reading the reviews I used 1 cup of chopped fresh cranberries instead of the sauce and I used the zest of one orange. This recipe made 6 mini loaves. I used a toothpick to make sure it was done. This will go into my Hall of Fame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
excellent! excellent! I used left over home made cranberry sauce from thaksgiving(I'm from Canada. Our Holiday is in October). Even kids who don't eat cranberry sauce ate this banana bread.This is now my favorite banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States