Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Wow these cookies are fabulous. I make them without nuts and due to my son's egg allergy, I used an egg substitute. The cookies are cakey, as opposed to hard. They are so tasty and so addictive. My 9-month old daughter likes them, my 3-year old son likes them and my husband inhales them as well. I've been making them every other week and have served them at meetings, playgroups and more. They are always a big hit and everyone asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These are awesome. They were a hit with everyone, and appear to be more of a 'mini' muffin cookie than crunchy, nevertheless, went over very well, and less chance of crumbling when packing them for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I used chopped pecans instead of the walnuts but I loved the cakey texture and richness of these little gems. Try them for using of over-ripe bananas instead of banana bread and you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a great little recipe especially for the kids! It's like having banana-nut bread in a cookie. I changed a few measurements and ingredients and found that the recipe worked a bit better. First, I used only 1 teaspoon of baking powder--it was more than enough. Second, I added close to a cup of ground walnuts I processed in the food processor. Finally, instead of shortening, I used butter and just a tab bit more, about a tablespoon more. I pre-mixed the dry ingredients including the nuts. Since the batter was extra moist, I used a spoon and knife to form generous round teaspoonfuls on the cookie sheet. Next time, I'll try adding a bit more lemon extract; 1/2 teaspoon plus. These cookies are great iced, especially with a thin lemon icing, but also equally as good with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar or plain. This recipe is easily altered like most banana breads. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were MEGA tasty. While they do tste more like banana bread in the shape of a cookie, I think they're definetly worth it. Not too difficult to make and everyone at home adored them. They expand pretty substantially so beware if you want them smaller or whatever. A good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krisztina
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Awesome cookies! To prevent the batter from being too runny, use heaping cups of flour, not level cups. Since I didn't have walnuts, I decided to use shredded sweetened coconut and also used coconut extract instead of lemon extract. These cookies are soooo soft and delicious - I will definitely be making them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
delicious cookies, a bit more bready than most other cookies...but still amazing. I added the walnuts just chopped, and about doubled the amount, they add a nice burst of flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
chocolate chips instead of nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Everyone at my church loves these cookies. My husband's always like "make those banana cookies." (He thinks its my recipe) They are soft kind of like little cakes, as someone mentioned, but taste so good. PS. make sure the banana's are really ripe or theyll be sour! Also I substitute eggs for equal parts apple sauce and veg. shortning to make vegan. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States