Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Made these for my boys this afternoon - ages 2 and 4. While they liked them, I found them to be mediocre, at best. The dough was more like a runny batter, so the cookies came out very flat. Refrigerating the batter helped the second batch rise a bit better. I added chocolate chips, which the kids loved. Nice banana flavor. Texture is more like a pancake than a cookie. They get mushy when you store them. I think I'll try another recipe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a great little recipe especially for the kids! It's like having banana-nut bread in a cookie. I changed a few measurements and ingredients and found that the recipe worked a bit better. First, I used only 1 teaspoon of baking powder--it was more than enough. Second, I added close to a cup of ground walnuts I processed in the food processor. Finally, instead of shortening, I used butter and just a tab bit more, about a tablespoon more. I pre-mixed the dry ingredients including the nuts. Since the batter was extra moist, I used a spoon and knife to form generous round teaspoonfuls on the cookie sheet. Next time, I'll try adding a bit more lemon extract; 1/2 teaspoon plus. These cookies are great iced, especially with a thin lemon icing, but also equally as good with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar or plain. This recipe is easily altered like most banana breads. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Wow these cookies are fabulous. I make them without nuts and due to my son's egg allergy, I used an egg substitute. The cookies are cakey, as opposed to hard. They are so tasty and so addictive. My 9-month old daughter likes them, my 3-year old son likes them and my husband inhales them as well. I've been making them every other week and have served them at meetings, playgroups and more. They are always a big hit and everyone asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Pretty good cookies! Very moist. It was almost like eating banana bread. My kids loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caralot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is an ok base recipe. My cooking time was about 9-10 min. And YES these are more of a mini cake not a cookie. It is not crunch or hard at all. I doctored mine up a bit. I used butter instead of shortening as others have suggested. This cake needed some flavor. I used Almond extract instead of lemon, added about 1tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a sprinkle of ground ginger. They tasted amazing. I also added chopped pecans to half the batter and finished them with powdered sugar. mmmmmm. The next day we even warmed them up again and topped with a vanilla or pumpkin ice cream. Great fall treat. Chocolate chips might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I used chopped pecans instead of the walnuts but I loved the cakey texture and richness of these little gems. Try them for using of over-ripe bananas instead of banana bread and you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These are awesome. They were a hit with everyone, and appear to be more of a 'mini' muffin cookie than crunchy, nevertheless, went over very well, and less chance of crumbling when packing them for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Awful, carried this recipe around for 3 yrs. made them the other day, major dissapointment. Ugh, trashed both recipe and cookies? if you can call them that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were MEGA tasty. While they do tste more like banana bread in the shape of a cookie, I think they're definetly worth it. Not too difficult to make and everyone at home adored them. They expand pretty substantially so beware if you want them smaller or whatever. A good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
My 6 year old helpd me make them and loved them! She wants to make more for her class at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States