Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
My 6 year old helpd me make them and loved them! She wants to make more for her class at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I used chopped pecans instead of the walnuts but I loved the cakey texture and richness of these little gems. Try them for using of over-ripe bananas instead of banana bread and you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Made these for my boys this afternoon - ages 2 and 4. While they liked them, I found them to be mediocre, at best. The dough was more like a runny batter, so the cookies came out very flat. Refrigerating the batter helped the second batch rise a bit better. I added chocolate chips, which the kids loved. Nice banana flavor. Texture is more like a pancake than a cookie. They get mushy when you store them. I think I'll try another recipe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
less of a cookie and more of a cookie shaped bread, but they are tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Wow these cookies are fabulous. I make them without nuts and due to my son's egg allergy, I used an egg substitute. The cookies are cakey, as opposed to hard. They are so tasty and so addictive. My 9-month old daughter likes them, my 3-year old son likes them and my husband inhales them as well. I've been making them every other week and have served them at meetings, playgroups and more. They are always a big hit and everyone asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These are awesome. They were a hit with everyone, and appear to be more of a 'mini' muffin cookie than crunchy, nevertheless, went over very well, and less chance of crumbling when packing them for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were MEGA tasty. While they do tste more like banana bread in the shape of a cookie, I think they're definetly worth it. Not too difficult to make and everyone at home adored them. They expand pretty substantially so beware if you want them smaller or whatever. A good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Awful, carried this recipe around for 3 yrs. made them the other day, major dissapointment. Ugh, trashed both recipe and cookies? if you can call them that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Definitely not a normal cookie if that's what you're looking for. It's more of a cake like texture - I even put some batter into muffin tins and made muffins with it. It could seriously use some spices like cinnamon or nutmeg. It's too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langenburg, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a great little recipe especially for the kids! It's like having banana-nut bread in a cookie. I changed a few measurements and ingredients and found that the recipe worked a bit better. First, I used only 1 teaspoon of baking powder--it was more than enough. Second, I added close to a cup of ground walnuts I processed in the food processor. Finally, instead of shortening, I used butter and just a tab bit more, about a tablespoon more. I pre-mixed the dry ingredients including the nuts. Since the batter was extra moist, I used a spoon and knife to form generous round teaspoonfuls on the cookie sheet. Next time, I'll try adding a bit more lemon extract; 1/2 teaspoon plus. These cookies are great iced, especially with a thin lemon icing, but also equally as good with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar or plain. This recipe is easily altered like most banana breads. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States