Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were chewy and delicious! I made a few substitutions to make them a little healthier. I used whole wheat flour, halved the sugar, and replaced the shortening with applesauce. The whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really like these cookies! I made a few adjustments: the cookie dough was too wet so I added extra flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour, and added about 1/2 cup extra. The dough was still too wet, so I dumped in about 1/2 cup of oats.) I used mini chocolate chips instead of nuts, and almond extract instead of lemon (didn't have lemon.) I baked them for 14 minutes, until they were a little brown on the bottom. Nice crunch (from the browning?? or the oats?) and not too "cakey." I almost added sunflower seeds, I might try that next time. A nice change from the banana cakes or bars I usually make when I have over-ripe bananas. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I really like these they have a 'healthy' taste to them. It is a good base recipe. I followed another reviewers advice and replaced the shortening with margarine. I added all kinds of things to them; black sesame seeds, oatmeal, and chocolate chips. I will probably add different ingredients each time depending what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is a nice little CAKE COOKIE. It has nice flavor and texture. I made the recipe as written except I added 1/2 cup white chocolate chips and added some cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg as suggested. I had some left over frosting and frosted some. Delish! These should be stored in a closed container if not not eaten hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Everyone at my church loves these cookies. My husband's always like "make those banana cookies." (He thinks its my recipe) They are soft kind of like little cakes, as someone mentioned, but taste so good. PS. make sure the banana's are really ripe or theyll be sour! Also I substitute eggs for equal parts apple sauce and veg. shortning to make vegan. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
chocolate chips instead of nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexia-Rose
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
they where great but add about 1\2 cup of flour and chocolate chip and some cinnamon about 1 tsp. i put some sprinkles in the batter too. they looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexia-Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Yum! I made these just like the recipie except I substitted butter for shortening and didn't use nute. They tasted delicious! Also, I halfed the recipie and used just less than 2 bananas (not 1.5). It is a very yummy cakey cookie! I also made a few with crushed reces pieces and a few with chocolate on top. These cookies would be very nice iced. PS when you're cooking these they actually taste better when the bottom goes brown and I would reccommend broiling the tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
super yummy. i used less sugar and added the chocolate like others recommended. didn't have the flatness problem at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bananarama
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I thought that these cookies (or in my opinion, banana bread circles) were pretty delicious! Then again, I am sort of partial to anything banana flavored... :) I made them with two 3 year old boys, while babysitting. They had a blast mashing bananas for the cookies, and helping with the measuring and pouring. Afterward, they both devoured two cookies each. And me? They were so yummy I had four. Woops! If you're looking for a very textured or crunchy cookie, this may not be the recipe for you. They're pretty bread-like and soft (which I still loved). I only put in half the amount of nuts the recipe called for, because my mom isn't a huge fan of them. The cookies were nice and soft and definitely worth making. I think I might bake them again someday for a party! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananarama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States