Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this following the recipe exactly. Very moist and easy to make. I gave this four stars only because I feel the topping could be better. I think I will try this without the topping next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was very tasty and my fiancée loved it with coffee as an afternoon snack. I made the following substitutions to cut back on the artificial sweeteners since baking anything with banana already has a sweet boost--used 3/4 cup regular white sugar in batter; light sour cream; 1 cup regular white and 1/2 cup whole wheat regular flour, and for topping 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar. Also, for one cup mashed banana, I found that two small bananas filled out one cup exactly. I baked for 45 minutes and it came out browned a bit on top and moist on the inside. After tasting, I think it could use the additional 1/4 cup sugar and maybe an additional 1/4 cup sour cream. Though it was moist, I found the cake a bit heavy tasting, true "cake" taste and consistency. (I'm comparing it to the taste of fruit loaves, like banana and carrot nut breads--those are denser, but more rich with flavor of the fruits because they have a more equal ratio of fruit to flour). This coffee cake is a true coffee cake--a great gift for brunch, a light snack, and for a mini dessert treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
'Using my mad math skills ;) I put this in an 8x11 glass dish; done in 35. Nut allergy so went with an oat topping: 3/4c oats, 3T melted butter, 1/4c brown sugar, 1/2t cinnamon. This would've overflowed in an 8x8 so don't do it - unless you're into cleaning your oven. 'Only thing - & it's not bad, just different - is that this dimpled. There are four - five dimples. Odd. I smoothed it before baking. Oh, well. Maybe with glass, the oven temp should be lower. A moist cake that isn't as light as most cakes, but lighter than most coffeecakes; not heavy or dense either, still soft. 'Feel free to read that one again! :D The oat topping, not reflected in the rating, was okay; but I doubt I'll use it again. Days later: I don't know why this isn't gone. It's good, but I'm the only one eating it. 'Think this might be a better lighttextured banana bread - put it in a couple loaf pans. No biggie. Maybe the oat topping is scaring them. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! This is a fantastic recipe. I didn't have cake flour, so I did the cornstarch and all-purpose flour trick. This cake was so light and moist. It's now one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Olbeter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is amazing! Used a bundt pan and replaced the sour cream with 2% Greek yogurt. Because that's what I had. Perfectly fluffy and substantial at the same time. Bundt pan creates a nut crunchy bottom with the brown sugar topping. Used slivered almonds twice, pecans once and walnut another time. Great, great method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
not enough banana flavor. Next time I will add some banana flavoring to make up for the lack of banana goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wonderful coffee cake! very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a Great coffee cake!I did make my own crumb topping with some leftover white cake crumbs! Yummmm!!! also I added a handful marashino cherrys to the batter! added a tsp of vanilla and used regular flour! Delicious! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States