Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
'Using my mad math skills ;) I put this in an 8x11 glass dish; done in 35. Nut allergy so went with an oat topping: 3/4c oats, 3T melted butter, 1/4c brown sugar, 1/2t cinnamon. This would've overflowed in an 8x8 so don't do it - unless you're into cleaning your oven. 'Only thing - & it's not bad, just different - is that this dimpled. There are four - five dimples. Odd. I smoothed it before baking. Oh, well. Maybe with glass, the oven temp should be lower. A moist cake that isn't as light as most cakes, but lighter than most coffeecakes; not heavy or dense either, still soft. 'Feel free to read that one again! :D The oat topping, not reflected in the rating, was okay; but I doubt I'll use it again. Days later: I don't know why this isn't gone. It's good, but I'm the only one eating it. 'Think this might be a better lighttextured banana bread - put it in a couple loaf pans. No biggie. Maybe the oat topping is scaring them. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! This is a fantastic recipe. I didn't have cake flour, so I did the cornstarch and all-purpose flour trick. This cake was so light and moist. It's now one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Olbeter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is amazing! Used a bundt pan and replaced the sour cream with 2% Greek yogurt. Because that's what I had. Perfectly fluffy and substantial at the same time. Bundt pan creates a nut crunchy bottom with the brown sugar topping. Used slivered almonds twice, pecans once and walnut another time. Great, great method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
not enough banana flavor. Next time I will add some banana flavoring to make up for the lack of banana goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wonderful coffee cake! very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a Great coffee cake!I did make my own crumb topping with some leftover white cake crumbs! Yummmm!!! also I added a handful marashino cherrys to the batter! added a tsp of vanilla and used regular flour! Delicious! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Karman Hannon
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good recipe, but more of a bread than a cake and I'd have then streusel in the middle of the cake rather than on top and put a cinnamon drizzle on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karman Hannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wonderful! We use walnuts and about 10 times as much brown sugar and make a lot of topping. It gets more moist every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bearden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
YUM! I doubled this recipe using regular sugar as opposed to superfine sugar. This made a lot more batter than 2-9x9 pans. So instead I got 3 pans worth of coffee cake. Two of the 9x9 size and one smaller round pan. It worked perfectly as I gave away 2 of the pans. I made 2 with the pecans and 1 without for my son. When I spread the pecans on the batter before baking, they were all around the pan, include the edge. As the cake baked, the pecans gravitated toward the center of the pan. It did not effect the taste of the coffeecake, just the appearance, a little bit. This was a nice, moist coffeecake that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States