Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pthor
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This cake is to die for ! It's a mix of banana bread & coffee cake. WOW! So moist, I can't stop eating it... I followed the recipe almost exactly, the only difference in mine was I used regular sugar and regular flour~I like the Wheat Montana flour so much better than the popular brands. I used a bunt pan. I sprayed the pan and put the pecan mixture in then the cake batter on top and cooked it for 45min. I think it could have finished baking in about 40min. Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe, it allows you to make subtle changes and still comes out fantastic. I followed recipe except didn't quite have 1 cup of ripe mashed bananas-so I mixed in 1/2 cup applesauce to the bananas, and I used 1/4 cup brown sugar in with the superfine white sugar and I had no nuts so I added about 1/4 cup of chopped dates instead for the topping. It came out great!! Really moist and very tasty...not at all like a dry banana bread. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I love banana bread and coffee cake so combining the two was like heaven to me. I didn't have pecans so I substituted almonds and it still tasted good. Add to my archives of favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara Torres Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent coffee cake. Took to the office today and it was a big hit. Followed the directions as written. Didn't take 45 minutes to bake so you should start checking it at 35 minutes to avoid over baking. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe. I had to substitute yogurt for the sour cream because I didn't have any on hand, but other than that I made it as written. I think when I make it again I will cut the sugar down by at least 1/4 cup, depending on how ripe the bananas are. It was a little sweet for my taste. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wonderful! We use walnuts and about 10 times as much brown sugar and make a lot of topping. It gets more moist every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bearden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
YUM! I doubled this recipe using regular sugar as opposed to superfine sugar. This made a lot more batter than 2-9x9 pans. So instead I got 3 pans worth of coffee cake. Two of the 9x9 size and one smaller round pan. It worked perfectly as I gave away 2 of the pans. I made 2 with the pecans and 1 without for my son. When I spread the pecans on the batter before baking, they were all around the pan, include the edge. As the cake baked, the pecans gravitated toward the center of the pan. It did not effect the taste of the coffeecake, just the appearance, a little bit. This was a nice, moist coffeecake that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe makes a lovely coffee cake. I used the recipe as written except that I used walnuts instead of pecans, since that was what was on hand. It's got a nice banana flavor with a much lighter texture than most banana bread recipes. One note of caution - even using an 8" square pan (again, what I had on hand), it only took about 30 minutes to bake, not 45. Keep an eye on it in your own oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great cake! I did tweak it a tad by using less sugar & also substituting half of the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I had to use walnuts because pecans weren't available in my pantry. Also used yogurt instead of sour cream like another reviewer said because we rarely eat sour cream. Thanks for sharing, MissKL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great coffee cake! Very easy to make and very tasty results. Turned out I didn't have as many chopped pecans as I thought. Instead I used a combination of chopped pecans, chopped hazelnuts and dried cranberries for the topping, which ended up being a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States