Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pthor
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This cake is to die for ! It's a mix of banana bread & coffee cake. WOW! So moist, I can't stop eating it... I followed the recipe almost exactly, the only difference in mine was I used regular sugar and regular flour~I like the Wheat Montana flour so much better than the popular brands. I used a bunt pan. I sprayed the pan and put the pecan mixture in then the cake batter on top and cooked it for 45min. I think it could have finished baking in about 40min. Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe. I had to substitute yogurt for the sour cream because I didn't have any on hand, but other than that I made it as written. I think when I make it again I will cut the sugar down by at least 1/4 cup, depending on how ripe the bananas are. It was a little sweet for my taste. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great coffee cake! Very easy to make and very tasty results. Turned out I didn't have as many chopped pecans as I thought. Instead I used a combination of chopped pecans, chopped hazelnuts and dried cranberries for the topping, which ended up being a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe, it allows you to make subtle changes and still comes out fantastic. I followed recipe except didn't quite have 1 cup of ripe mashed bananas-so I mixed in 1/2 cup applesauce to the bananas, and I used 1/4 cup brown sugar in with the superfine white sugar and I had no nuts so I added about 1/4 cup of chopped dates instead for the topping. It came out great!! Really moist and very tasty...not at all like a dry banana bread. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent coffee cake. Took to the office today and it was a big hit. Followed the directions as written. Didn't take 45 minutes to bake so you should start checking it at 35 minutes to avoid over baking. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I love banana bread and coffee cake so combining the two was like heaven to me. I didn't have pecans so I substituted almonds and it still tasted good. Add to my archives of favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara Torres Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
WOW!! Loved this. I don't like frosting or high sugary things for breakfast and this is PERFECT! I didn't have applesauce or sour cream so I used cottage cheese and it was Wonderful. I used plain sugar and plain flour, 3 ripe bananas, doubled the recipe and baked in 9x13 for 50min. All other reviews are extremely accurate! I will definitely be making this again with my black bananas in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Great cake! I did tweak it a tad by using less sugar & also substituting half of the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I had to use walnuts because pecans weren't available in my pantry. Also used yogurt instead of sour cream like another reviewer said because we rarely eat sour cream. Thanks for sharing, MissKL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made this for my family on Mother's Day and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cari
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The house smells wonderful, the cake is moist and oh so yummy! I bring it to church to share and it always gets gobbled up! My daughter and I made muffins out of the mix this go around. The only thing I changed was the amount of time to cook which is 35 min instead of 45 for the cake. They are perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States