Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Oh Wow! We love it! One of the best banana breads I have ever made. I am out of Walnuts but had Almonds so quickly toasted them in a dry pan. Figured it was okay since there is almond extract in the recipe. I went a little heavy on the coconut and used approx. 1 extra banana and will make it exactly the same next time. Moist and very flavorful. I did leave it in the oven for about 55 min and should have taken in out at 50. It is a little darker than I wanted but wouldn't mind if it turned out like this everytime, really tastes perfect. I have found a new recipe for banana bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Good base recipe and I made some changes: Instead of white flour I split it into half white and half whole wheat. Instead of 2 whole eggs I used Eggbeaters Instead of all butter I used 1/4 butter and 1/4 cup applesauce Instead of 1 cup of all white sugar...I used 1/2 cup brown and 1/4 cup white. (just sweet enough). I did use sweetened coconut. I did not use almond extract or nuts (allergic) --- so I used 1/4 tsp vanilla extract. I didn't use cherries either. Instead I added in some bittersweet chocolate chips sparingly. Made as mini-muffins and they are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this for an event that needed some breakfast goodies. I chose not to put the nuts in it because of all the nut allergies that are around. And I didn't have the cherries. My loaf got way to dark before it was done. And it was not easy to get out of the pan. The bottom tore. Flavor was nice and moist. I added 1/4 teaspoon of cocconut extract and 1/4 of vanilla instead of the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This turned out great...but I made changes-I only used 1 banana but added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also switched the 1/2 tsp of almond for 1tsp of lemon extract and 1 tbs of lemon zest! I made a lemon cream cheese glaze for on top-DELICIOUS!! Lemon-coconut-banana loaf, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
It was nice but I couldn't taste the coconut at all. perhaps add coconut extract instead of almond?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was awesome! I only split the sugar (50% white, 50% brown), doubled the walnuts, and omitted the cherries. After trying this, I must say I ditched my other banana bread recipes. Can't keep it once I it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2bHiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Easy to make! Banana is not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Littlepammie
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
excellent!!! Very moist. I substituted 1/2 wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States