Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I gave this four stars only because I didn't follow it to the letter. I used vanilla instead of almond extract and olive oil instead of melted butter. I also cut the sugar by 1/3. I used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts and I skipped the cherries. The 'base' cake remained the same, however, and was absolutely divine! (I don't recommend macadamia nuts, though - didn't like the texture they gave! Walnuts or even no nuts would have been better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe- but I made a double batch and put into a bundt pan. Turned out excellent. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made exactly as directed and thought the texture was perfect. All the flavors combine but don't get lost in the bread: the banana and coconut and cherry are all distinct but work well together. I don't always have milk in the house and I appreciated this didn't call for any. Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Oh Wow! We love it! One of the best banana breads I have ever made. I am out of Walnuts but had Almonds so quickly toasted them in a dry pan. Figured it was okay since there is almond extract in the recipe. I went a little heavy on the coconut and used approx. 1 extra banana and will make it exactly the same next time. Moist and very flavorful. I did leave it in the oven for about 55 min and should have taken in out at 50. It is a little darker than I wanted but wouldn't mind if it turned out like this everytime, really tastes perfect. I have found a new recipe for banana bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Good base recipe and I made some changes: Instead of white flour I split it into half white and half whole wheat. Instead of 2 whole eggs I used Eggbeaters Instead of all butter I used 1/4 butter and 1/4 cup applesauce Instead of 1 cup of all white sugar...I used 1/2 cup brown and 1/4 cup white. (just sweet enough). I did use sweetened coconut. I did not use almond extract or nuts (allergic) --- so I used 1/4 tsp vanilla extract. I didn't use cherries either. Instead I added in some bittersweet chocolate chips sparingly. Made as mini-muffins and they are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this for an event that needed some breakfast goodies. I chose not to put the nuts in it because of all the nut allergies that are around. And I didn't have the cherries. My loaf got way to dark before it was done. And it was not easy to get out of the pan. The bottom tore. Flavor was nice and moist. I added 1/4 teaspoon of cocconut extract and 1/4 of vanilla instead of the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This turned out great...but I made changes-I only used 1 banana but added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also switched the 1/2 tsp of almond for 1tsp of lemon extract and 1 tbs of lemon zest! I made a lemon cream cheese glaze for on top-DELICIOUS!! Lemon-coconut-banana loaf, a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
It was nice but I couldn't taste the coconut at all. perhaps add coconut extract instead of almond?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was awesome! I only split the sugar (50% white, 50% brown), doubled the walnuts, and omitted the cherries. After trying this, I must say I ditched my other banana bread recipes. Can't keep it once I it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2bHiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States