Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
should add more sugar and I bake for only 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very very good! I did not use cherries and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Delicious! Would love to make french toast out of it next time I bake a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
2 words... LOVED IT! I had to make some changes due to my diet and to adjust it to what I had: I subbed the fructose for the sugar (can't eat sugar) but reduced it to 70g instead of 200g. I subbed homemade applesauce (just cooked the apples-with the skin on-with a tiny bit of water till soft and pureed them) for the butter, I didn't add the cherries nor the almond extract since I didn't have any and I did 150g of whole wheat flour and for the remaining flour I used soy flour (I am vegetarian so I try to incorporate protein whenever I can) and baked it for 1h at 150C (when adding soy flour the temperature must be lower). I know, I know quite a bit of changes but the loaf still turned out great! Thank you so much!!! I will be making it again... and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I omitted the eggs ( since I don't eat dairy) and cherries and added dark chocolate chips and applesauce. Super yummy was a huge hit. Will make again and often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was a great change from the typical banana bread. It was moist, pretty, and we all really enjoyed the different blend of flavors. The only thing we noticed was that the flavor of the nuts was a little to strong for us, so the next time I make it, I will cut back the nuts to about 1/4 cup. Otherwise, we really enjoyed this, and I am glad I decided to give it a try. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I liked this banana bread I didnt have a lot of cherries. I cut them in half so that I could stretch it. Didnt have walnuts so I didnt add it. I also added vanilla extract. And used about 1/4cup of sour cream just so I wouldnt have to worry about it being dry. Overall its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Not a big coconut fan, but when mixed with everything, it gave an extra crunch and sweetness. Yummy. The only trouble I had was that the outside got dry, and the inside didn't cook through. I'm thinking that has more to do with the baking than the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was an absolute delight to make and eat! The batter was beautiful - I felt like I was making a souffle! I doubled this recipe to make two loaves. My only personal touches were I used pecans instead of walnuts and I added a bit of banana extract to the bananas in addition to the almond extract!! I will use this recipe again and again!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great loaf! I used vanilla extract instead of almond as that was what I had, and used 1 cup coconut with no cherries or nuts. It kept its form well, crumbled only slightly when cut, and was lovely and moist, particularly in the centre. I thought the coconut complimented the banana very well. Definitely something one should savour in the mouth instead of gulping down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A bit too sweet for me, but the family ate it quickly. The coconut was a nice change of pace. It browned before it was cooked through and I needed to cover it with foil. It was also difficult to remove from the pan as others had mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States