Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I like this recipe a lot, but as written it's too sweet. I use half a cup of sugar. I also substitute coconut oil for half of the melted butter, and whole wheat for half of the flour... still lots of calories, but a bit healthier. :-) To make mini muffins instead of a loaf, add 1/4 cup of milk to the egg mixture, and bake in lined muffin tins for 18 minutes. Makes 18 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Nummy! I made a few changes, though. I made muffins, not a loaf, so my cooking time was about 20 mins. I used only 1/3 brown sugar + 1/3 cup table sugar, and they were still very sweet. I also substituted 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds, 1/4 cup of oat bran, & 1/4 cup of wheat germ for 3/4 cup of the flour. And I used egg replacer powder instead of egg and 1/4 cup canola oil + 1/4 cup applesauce instead of butter. And I added chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this for my bible study group & everyone loved it. I left out the cherries (just not a fan of them) and served it warm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Was short on bananas, subbed with plantains, really good stuff!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeit-Bakeit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Changes: added 3.9 oz. cup (single serving) Mott's natural applesauce; used vanilla instead of almond flavoring; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; used sweetened coconut; topped lightly with coconut; no nuts or cherries (husband not a fan); perfect. Family says, best banana bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very, very good!! Made some changes after reading the reviews...1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar; 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. apple sauce; 1 1/2 c. gluten-free flour mix + 1 1/8 tsp. xanthum gum. Use drained, crushed pineapple instead of the cherries. Will be making this often. Thank you for the start of a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Sooooo good! I did not use cherries or nuts, but I did sprinkle some chocolate chips on top of a couple of my mini loaves. Yum! I also used coconut extract and sprinkled extra coconut on top of the loaves. I lightened it up by using a combo of no sugar added applesauce, Greek yogurt, and a tiny bit of canola oil instead of the fat, and used egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I made it just as written, but also glazed it with a small amount of powdered sugar, water and almond extract immediately after taking it out of the oven before turning it out of the pan to cool. I've found a new favorite banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious, and beautiful bread! I made it as written, and loved the pop of color the cherries added. I did use melted coconut oil rather than butter but that was the only change. I might try to cut back on the sugar next time as I feel it is a bit too sweet. Also make sure to grease the pan well as it sticks a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this and brought it to work, it got rave reviews. I substituted pomegranet craisins for the maraschino cherries, cut the butter in half and used 1/4 cup applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States