Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I really like this recipe. It's a good one to make to give as a gift because it's a little more special than just plain banana bread. I've doubled this and divided the batter between three 8x4 bread pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
hmmm...i think an hour was too long in my oven, the loaf turned out pretty dry, and that made me sad.:( but the flavour was nice, i used pineapple instead of cherries and a little extra coconut. I wonder how adding some applesauce would change it, maybe it would make it more moist. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is really good! My daughter said "This is yummy, you're the best cooker in the world! 20 Stars!" It's a funny-looking loaf though. It didn't rise above the pan at all, but stayed totally flat, no dome or anything. It's a perfect rectangle! I used half whole wheat pastry flour, half brown sugar, and half applesauce for the butter. I used 3 small bananas that were pretty much black. I loved the cherries in this (used Trader Joe's maraschino cherries). I'm not a banana bread lover, but this is really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe to start with. I followed the others and did half brown and white sugar, i used vanilla, coconut and banana extracts and i added crushed pineapple to mine to make it more of a tropical loaf. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdloves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We omited the cherries and it still came out pretty nice - it wasnt too heavy and the coconut added a nice touch too. I'm not normally a fan of Banana loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Nice and moist. I followed the recipe exactly and was pleased. The only difference was that mine was well done after 40 minutes. I reduced the temp half way through because it was already starting to burn. My fault for not paying attention to what pan I used.... Next time I will try toasting the coconut first and maybe adding a little spice--but really, the recipe is great as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
this was pretty good. i made a few changes. i substituted choc. chips for cherries and used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts. i used a dark pan so i lowered the temp of the oven by about 25degrees. it is really great fresh from the oven, but i cant wait to try it in the morning with my coffee, as other reviewers have said it is better the next day. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Like other reviewers, I thought it was better the 2nd day. I also thought it was a bit dry, so I will try to make some modifications next time to help with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was a very tasty and went down really well with the older members of my family who all thought it was lovely.Great recipe i will make this one time and time again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
The BEST if you don't have the cherry's or don't care for them just leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States