Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! I made the variation with lemon zest, as I didn't have the cherries, and the combination of flavors is sooo good. I also used whole wheat pastry flour, left out the walnuts, increased the coconut, had over a cup of mashed banana, and decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup. It was still plenty sweet and had a very moist texture. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I was bored with reading how good this was, but I want to tell everyone out there. I made this recipe as stated and it IS the BEST I have EVER eaten...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a really simple recipe that can be easily adjusted depending on your tastes. I replaced the butter entirely with sweetened applesauce to cut the fat, and used yellow sugar instead of white for a little extra flavour. I replaced the cherries with strawberries, as that was what I had around the house. I did find the coconut flavour a bit over-powering, though, so I think in the future I would use a cup of strawberries and a cup and a half of banana, and reduce the coconut by a half. I would also like to try it in the future using raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Once again I am not sure if I should even review the recipe or not because of the many changes that I made but the 4 stars are for the coconut/banana combination... I love banana nut bread and I love coconut and I have never thought to put the two together??? The combination is delicious! So for those who are interested the changes I made were to use all whole wheat flour, canola oil instead of butter (no cholesterol) and I didn't use the whole amount stated in the recipe, 3/4 cup cane sugar, 1/2 a cup of fat free yogurt instead of two eggs (again no cholesterol), and vanilla extract instead of almond. I now have a much healthier recipe with absolutely no reduction in taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is loved by my kids. The only adjustments I made were to use a heaping half-cup of coconut and I also added a half-cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was awesome and I will definitely make it again. I did not have walnuts on hand so I used pecans. I might try macadamia nuts next time - especially if I plan on serving the bread to guests (not sure if my family is worth of macadamia nuts – ha!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
It was good but we would leave the cherries out next time. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Bourgoin Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by laeyn
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
It's good...maybe a tad too sweet for me. But everyone else loved it. It lasted a day. I used a scant 3/4 cup of light brown sugar. If I make it again, I'm just going to use 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar. But this recipe is a great way to use up extra coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very good! A nice change from the regular old banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States