Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was so yummy! I did not add and nuts and fruit, just banana and coconut, and it was still perfect! I am new to baking so this was very simple and easy to follow. I had to bake longer than an hour, maybe it's my oven but it came out great- very moist, just following the recipe as is, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wonderful.. I used macadamia nuts and it was fantastic. Use a light colored metal loaf pan, very (black) ripe bananas, and don't overcook it and it will be very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I needed to make muffins, so I thought this recipe would be great (with a couple of modifications of course!). I used 3/4c wheat and 3/4c white flour and 1/4 cup wheat bran. 1/2c white 1/2c brown sugar. 1/4c butter and 1/3c applesauce. 1/4t vanilla 1/2t coconut extracts, a splash of rum, and chopped macadamia nuts. I also toasted my coconut(used a little extra) and omitted the cherries. These babies cooked for about 25 min and holy were they good!!! Had a great texture with the cococnut & macadamia nuts. Nice crispy outside and moist spongy inside. Maybe next time I will try pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I was looking for something to make with my bananas besides the "same old banana bread". This was a great choice. I did read the reviews and took ya'lls advice. I didn't have applesauce so I chopped up a little apple to add the moisture many of you thought it needed. Also, didn't have any cherries so I added dried cranberries...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is just delightful! I didn't change a thing, only using pecans instead of walnuts, and I'm so glad I made the recipe as is, ignoring other suggestions and substitutions by other reviewers. This is just delicious, prettily specked with the red cherries and brown nuts and flecked with the coconut. So different from the same ol' banana bread and a nice change. It's moist and flavorful, with a real comfort food quality about it. Set your timer at less than the full hour--my loaf was done at 50 minutes. You can always add more time, but you can't undo it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This bread is amazing, very versatile and a great foundation for many variations of quick bread. I was looking for a pep talk for my bland old banana bread recipe. I am honestly not a huge fan of banana bread, but it is my husband’s favorite so I have endured many years of it, but this I actually really enjoy and look forward to. I mainly used vanilla extract (a little more than called for) and did not put the cherries (only do to husband's personal preference), sometimes I toasted the coconut (and added a little more than called for), but not often and no matter how I mixed up the recipe the bread always came out perfect. I baked them in my convection oven and after the first loaf I knew the timing for a perfect outcome. I made over 10 loaves for Christmas and they were an amazing hit. I put them in baked goods gift bags with a personalized label and a huge bouquet of ribbon. I am on my way now to make another loaf - it is by far the best go to quick bread recipe ever. Give it a try, the sky is the limit on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMAPRIL99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
So good! I made them as muffins instead and they only took 30 minutes to bake. Also only used vanilla and sub'd macadamia nuts for walnuts. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imakejam
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This bread is FANTASTIC!!! I used unsalted real butter since I had that on hand and it came out great! My step-daughter had a piece and said "OMG, this is my favorite!" Might go a bit scant on the 1/2 tsp. almond extract. Other than that, absolute perfection! Glad I tried it. This one is definitely a keeper for holiday mini loaf gifts. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Yum. I used 3/4 cup of Splenda instead of sugar and used unsweetened coconut. I found the amount of cherries a tad too sweet so I would lower the amount next time. But overall, this loaf is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! I made the variation with lemon zest, as I didn't have the cherries, and the combination of flavors is sooo good. I also used whole wheat pastry flour, left out the walnuts, increased the coconut, had over a cup of mashed banana, and decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup. It was still plenty sweet and had a very moist texture. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States