Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
WOW!! Way better than the same old banana nut loaf! I didn't have cherries but that's the only ingredient I left out. I also used half butter, and half apple sauce. I cut the almond ext. to 1/4 tsp plus I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and vanilla too. Baking time was almost exactly 50 min, and totally moist on the inside (which is exactly what I was looking for in a banana nut recipe). I couldn't wait the ten minutes cooling time before I had to dig in. The smell from the oven brought everyone to the kitchen. AWESOME RECIPE!!! This is now the only recipe I will use for banana nut bread. I might even try to use slightly less sugar next time. It's a big hit in our house! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was the first recipe I've ever tried from allrecipes with HUGE success. I took the suggestions from others to reduce almond extract to 1/4 tsp and add a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. I ended up using 4 medium sized bananas which yielded slightly more than 1 c. I left out the cherries and nuts and baked for an hour. It was absolutely perfect. My husband and I both loved this recipe and I will definitely use it again. It was delicious warmed up on its own or with butter or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very tasty and a nice alternative to regular banana bread, but I'd make a few changes next time. I'd cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, cut the almond extract down to 1/4 teaspoon, use unsweetened coconut, use pecans or macademia nuts, and replace the maraschino cherries with either pineapple chunks or dried cranberries that have been presoaked. Also, this loaf didn't rise at all after baking...not like I was expecting. This didn't bother me at first, but then it even sank a little after cooling. Will still make again with modificaitons, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
So Delicious. This will be a frequent receipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StunnaShades
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wowsers. Usually quick breads taste better the next day, but this one tasted amazing right out of the oven. I used 3/4 cup coconut, 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, used only whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white. Will bake again, every time I have leftover bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StunnaShades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was so yummy! I did not add and nuts and fruit, just banana and coconut, and it was still perfect! I am new to baking so this was very simple and easy to follow. I had to bake longer than an hour, maybe it's my oven but it came out great- very moist, just following the recipe as is, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wonderful.. I used macadamia nuts and it was fantastic. Use a light colored metal loaf pan, very (black) ripe bananas, and don't overcook it and it will be very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I needed to make muffins, so I thought this recipe would be great (with a couple of modifications of course!). I used 3/4c wheat and 3/4c white flour and 1/4 cup wheat bran. 1/2c white 1/2c brown sugar. 1/4c butter and 1/3c applesauce. 1/4t vanilla 1/2t coconut extracts, a splash of rum, and chopped macadamia nuts. I also toasted my coconut(used a little extra) and omitted the cherries. These babies cooked for about 25 min and holy were they good!!! Had a great texture with the cococnut & macadamia nuts. Nice crispy outside and moist spongy inside. Maybe next time I will try pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I was looking for something to make with my bananas besides the "same old banana bread". This was a great choice. I did read the reviews and took ya'lls advice. I didn't have applesauce so I chopped up a little apple to add the moisture many of you thought it needed. Also, didn't have any cherries so I added dried cranberries...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is just delightful! I didn't change a thing, only using pecans instead of walnuts, and I'm so glad I made the recipe as is, ignoring other suggestions and substitutions by other reviewers. This is just delicious, prettily specked with the red cherries and brown nuts and flecked with the coconut. So different from the same ol' banana bread and a nice change. It's moist and flavorful, with a real comfort food quality about it. Set your timer at less than the full hour--my loaf was done at 50 minutes. You can always add more time, but you can't undo it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States