Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very tasty and moist.. Fun to make and even more fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I followed this reciepe to a tee. However, I did leave out the nuts as the kids are not allowed any nut products at school. This loaf came out perfect, so I'm making loaf #2 today, I only made the first loaf a couple of days ago and its gone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
REALLY good banana brea with a twist. I used the 1/2 cup each of brown and white sugar and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla as others suggested. I also omitted the cherries and used "flaked" organic coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Best

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
WOW!! Way better than the same old banana nut loaf! I didn't have cherries but that's the only ingredient I left out. I also used half butter, and half apple sauce. I cut the almond ext. to 1/4 tsp plus I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and vanilla too. Baking time was almost exactly 50 min, and totally moist on the inside (which is exactly what I was looking for in a banana nut recipe). I couldn't wait the ten minutes cooling time before I had to dig in. The smell from the oven brought everyone to the kitchen. AWESOME RECIPE!!! This is now the only recipe I will use for banana nut bread. I might even try to use slightly less sugar next time. It's a big hit in our house! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was the first recipe I've ever tried from allrecipes with HUGE success. I took the suggestions from others to reduce almond extract to 1/4 tsp and add a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. I ended up using 4 medium sized bananas which yielded slightly more than 1 c. I left out the cherries and nuts and baked for an hour. It was absolutely perfect. My husband and I both loved this recipe and I will definitely use it again. It was delicious warmed up on its own or with butter or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very tasty and a nice alternative to regular banana bread, but I'd make a few changes next time. I'd cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, cut the almond extract down to 1/4 teaspoon, use unsweetened coconut, use pecans or macademia nuts, and replace the maraschino cherries with either pineapple chunks or dried cranberries that have been presoaked. Also, this loaf didn't rise at all after baking...not like I was expecting. This didn't bother me at first, but then it even sank a little after cooling. Will still make again with modificaitons, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
So Delicious. This will be a frequent receipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StunnaShades
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wowsers. Usually quick breads taste better the next day, but this one tasted amazing right out of the oven. I used 3/4 cup coconut, 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, used only whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white. Will bake again, every time I have leftover bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StunnaShades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was so yummy! I did not add and nuts and fruit, just banana and coconut, and it was still perfect! I am new to baking so this was very simple and easy to follow. I had to bake longer than an hour, maybe it's my oven but it came out great- very moist, just following the recipe as is, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Wonderful.. I used macadamia nuts and it was fantastic. Use a light colored metal loaf pan, very (black) ripe bananas, and don't overcook it and it will be very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States