Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It is so much more flavorful and exciting than regular banana bread. I did make a few small changes. I left out the cherries, used sweetened coconut, subbed pecans bc I didn't have walnuts, and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
SOOOooOo moist and delicious!Didnt add the cherries but other than that followed the recipe exactly. WOuldnt change a thing. Took it over to parents house and they loved it. Will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Love this recipe - Thanks.. I don't add walnuts or cherries but do add saltanas and sometmies chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and mine cooked in 45 minutes.. I really loved the coconut added into this recipe.. It was fabulous :) thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed the extra layer of flavors in this unusual banana bread. I toasted the coconut and pecans that I used in lieu of the walnuts. Other than that I made as is. Used 4 very ripe small bananas. I do think next time I would use at least 1/2 C of brown sugar instead of all white. I think that would compliment these flavors better. This was done in exactly 1 hour. Smells awesome too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My husband said I should never use another banana bread recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made this as muffins and reduced the cooking time. I really liked them. I was skeptical because of the cherries, but they added a really good flavor that was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have made lots of banana bread recipes and this one just wasn't very good. The only thing I didn't do was add the cherries. I was really looking forward to this but was disappointed. There was not enough banana flavor and I couldn't taste the coconut. I used unsweetened coconut flakes and maybe I should have used sweetened. Overall, this was a bland quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was delicious! The coconut gives it a tropical flavor, which is nice for a change. I have made it twice now, used walnuts once and pecans the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. Nice change from standard banana nut. Did some slight changes with moist and flavorful results. Eliminated fat replacing with non-sweet applesauce; used 1/4 ts each of these flavorings: coconut, vanilla and banana; substituted cherries with 1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries; reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. As the author suggests, this recipe can easily be modified. Looking forward to making more using dried pineapple or mango for a tropical taste. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States