Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is amazing! I'm afraid to go in the kitchen right now, or I'll eat all of it. The only thing I changed was I substituted pineapple for the cherries. It seemed like a much better fit. To me, anyway. Also, it was still a bit raw inside when the hour was up, so I baked it for and hour and 20 minutes total. I'll definitely be making this again. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a moist well balanced bread. I made it just as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Mana
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is one of our favorites. I have made often in regular loaf and the smaller ones to give as gifts. Couple of things I do that might be helpful: I line the pan with parchment paper. I did have trouble in the beginning removing. Also I find the toothpick checking is not the best; often pick is dry but needs to cook longer. It is usually 50 mins in my oven. I wait until the top is totally brown and the center feels cooked by touch. Usually the top has beautiful cracks. I let melted butter cool off before adding, cut the cherries with scissors, use 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup light brown, pecans. Add the pecans to flour but wait and add cherries when there is just enough left to coat them. No valid reason just seems to be less lumps as you gently stir into the batter. However, I have never been able to prep and mix in less than 1/2 hour so may want to allow more time the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
didn't have cherries or walnuts but substituted 1/2 cup applesauce as recommended. Soooo good moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great alternative to simple banana loaf. I too made this as muffin instead. Added vanilla extract, used brown sugar instead and omitted the cherries and nuts. Very moist. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I like this recipe a lot, but as written it's too sweet. I use half a cup of sugar. I also substitute coconut oil for half of the melted butter, and whole wheat for half of the flour... still lots of calories, but a bit healthier. :-) To make mini muffins instead of a loaf, add 1/4 cup of milk to the egg mixture, and bake in lined muffin tins for 18 minutes. Makes 18 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Nummy! I made a few changes, though. I made muffins, not a loaf, so my cooking time was about 20 mins. I used only 1/3 brown sugar + 1/3 cup table sugar, and they were still very sweet. I also substituted 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds, 1/4 cup of oat bran, & 1/4 cup of wheat germ for 3/4 cup of the flour. And I used egg replacer powder instead of egg and 1/4 cup canola oil + 1/4 cup applesauce instead of butter. And I added chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this for my bible study group & everyone loved it. I left out the cherries (just not a fan of them) and served it warm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Was short on bananas, subbed with plantains, really good stuff!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeit-Bakeit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Changes: added 3.9 oz. cup (single serving) Mott's natural applesauce; used vanilla instead of almond flavoring; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; used sweetened coconut; topped lightly with coconut; no nuts or cherries (husband not a fan); perfect. Family says, best banana bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States