Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
great flavor...very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUSHSUCKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was rated OMG by my 12 year old, so I decided that was a 5 star! Followed to a T up to add ins - skipped the walnuts and cherries (no walnuts on hand, kid nixed the cherry idea!) and threw in a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips instead. Good enough to be breakfast, dessert, snack, or if you're lucky enough to have it last that long, all three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are great. You can vary the recipe many ways. I have used wheat flour, vanilla extract, chopped brazil nuts and pineapple. The kids love them. I made muffins (only needs 20 min cooking time). Moist and beautiful any way I have made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! I love anything coconut so of course wanted to try this when I found it. I left out the cherries because I'm not crazy about marachinos and didn't have any anyway. It was moist and flavorful. My children and husband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious> I use vanilla instead of almond extract and I omit the dried fruit. Very moist, very good. This is now a staple banana bread for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was pretty good. I used coconut oil (1/3 c) instead of butter added about 1/2 c of applesauce. I did not add cherries - I think next time I would add raisins. I wish it had looked prettier - it barely rose at all. Maybe I'll add more baking powder next time too. I mill my own flour, so my loaf was whole wheat, but it wasn't heavy and was very tender. With the coconut oil, it definitely tasted coconuty. A nice change from regular banana bread. Mine was nice and moist - no problems with it being dry like some other reviewers - but I watched it really close - I think I ended up baking it for 56 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I used freshly grated coconut and made the bread in 4 small pans. Delicious! Everyone at my Mahjong game raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Exceptional bread. This is so moist, so pretty, and there are so many different flavors going on that work so well together. I almost didn't add the cherries, but I am so glad that I did. Not only do they add to the color of the bread, but they compiment the flavors as well. I made a simple glaze with powdered sugar, milk and almond extract and just drizzled a tiny bit over the top. I love almond flavoring and was actually a bit hesitant as to how it would go with banana, and I must say, it goes very well. This one will definitely be one that will go to the teacher's lounge this school year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Loved this bread! I only made changes to accomodate my altitude of 8000' and due to the fact that I am diabetic. Replaced the melted butter with 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce. For the flour I used 1 c whole wheat and 1/2 c white. To reduce the sugar I used 1/2 c and 1/4 c of the brown sugar splenda mix. For the altitude I reduced the baking powder to 1 t and the baking soda to 1/4 t. The loaf rose perfectly and browned so nicely. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States