Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I made it just as written, but also glazed it with a small amount of powdered sugar, water and almond extract immediately after taking it out of the oven before turning it out of the pan to cool. I've found a new favorite banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious, and beautiful bread! I made it as written, and loved the pop of color the cherries added. I did use melted coconut oil rather than butter but that was the only change. I might try to cut back on the sugar next time as I feel it is a bit too sweet. Also make sure to grease the pan well as it sticks a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this and brought it to work, it got rave reviews. I substituted pomegranet craisins for the maraschino cherries, cut the butter in half and used 1/4 cup applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I was jazzed to try this today, as I had 3 medium-sized very overripe bananas to use up. Meh. Not much banana or coconut flavor. I'd likely try this again with some tweaking though...perhaps using coconut extract or subbing out dark brown sugar instead of the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delish! I followed recipe almost exactly, only adding a handful of chocolate chips for fun and subsituting vanilla extract, as I didn't have almond. Boy, the smell alone was intoxicating enough to make me forget about the gift recipients this was for...then when I tasted a crumb that got stuck to the pan, I knew I was in danger of having to make another batch! I used mini loaf pans and got 3 out of this recipe. I did not have any problems with dryness/crumbling as some other reviewers did. My boyfriend insists that I make this for us often, now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has become my go-to recipe for banana bread. I have tried a lot of banana breads, but the almond extract really makes this one stand out. I don't add the nuts or cherries, just personal preference. It always goes over well when I take it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and added a cup of fresh mashed papaya. I figured it would be like substituting apple sauce but it was even better. Very moist and nice crunch to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
delicious, but it stuck in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Jones Frandsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is just brilliant! A star among banana breads; I've never tasted better! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Delicious! Made this as is,aside from not using cherries ( I had none) and pecans instead of walnuts because we prefer them. This was moist and very flavorful. I also made them as muffins instead of a loaf since I was limited on time. Took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States