Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Was short on bananas, subbed with plantains, really good stuff!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makeit-Bakeit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Changes: added 3.9 oz. cup (single serving) Mott's natural applesauce; used vanilla instead of almond flavoring; used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; used sweetened coconut; topped lightly with coconut; no nuts or cherries (husband not a fan); perfect. Family says, best banana bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very, very good!! Made some changes after reading the reviews...1/2 c. sugar, 1/2 c. brown sugar; 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. apple sauce; 1 1/2 c. gluten-free flour mix + 1 1/8 tsp. xanthum gum. Use drained, crushed pineapple instead of the cherries. Will be making this often. Thank you for the start of a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Sooooo good! I did not use cherries or nuts, but I did sprinkle some chocolate chips on top of a couple of my mini loaves. Yum! I also used coconut extract and sprinkled extra coconut on top of the loaves. I lightened it up by using a combo of no sugar added applesauce, Greek yogurt, and a tiny bit of canola oil instead of the fat, and used egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I made it just as written, but also glazed it with a small amount of powdered sugar, water and almond extract immediately after taking it out of the oven before turning it out of the pan to cool. I've found a new favorite banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious, and beautiful bread! I made it as written, and loved the pop of color the cherries added. I did use melted coconut oil rather than butter but that was the only change. I might try to cut back on the sugar next time as I feel it is a bit too sweet. Also make sure to grease the pan well as it sticks a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this and brought it to work, it got rave reviews. I substituted pomegranet craisins for the maraschino cherries, cut the butter in half and used 1/4 cup applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I was jazzed to try this today, as I had 3 medium-sized very overripe bananas to use up. Meh. Not much banana or coconut flavor. I'd likely try this again with some tweaking though...perhaps using coconut extract or subbing out dark brown sugar instead of the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delish! I followed recipe almost exactly, only adding a handful of chocolate chips for fun and subsituting vanilla extract, as I didn't have almond. Boy, the smell alone was intoxicating enough to make me forget about the gift recipients this was for...then when I tasted a crumb that got stuck to the pan, I knew I was in danger of having to make another batch! I used mini loaf pans and got 3 out of this recipe. I did not have any problems with dryness/crumbling as some other reviewers did. My boyfriend insists that I make this for us often, now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has become my go-to recipe for banana bread. I have tried a lot of banana breads, but the almond extract really makes this one stand out. I don't add the nuts or cherries, just personal preference. It always goes over well when I take it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States