Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This bread is amazing, very versatile and a great foundation for many variations of quick bread. I was looking for a pep talk for my bland old banana bread recipe. I am honestly not a huge fan of banana bread, but it is my husband’s favorite so I have endured many years of it, but this I actually really enjoy and look forward to. I mainly used vanilla extract (a little more than called for) and did not put the cherries (only do to husband's personal preference), sometimes I toasted the coconut (and added a little more than called for), but not often and no matter how I mixed up the recipe the bread always came out perfect. I baked them in my convection oven and after the first loaf I knew the timing for a perfect outcome. I made over 10 loaves for Christmas and they were an amazing hit. I put them in baked goods gift bags with a personalized label and a huge bouquet of ribbon. I am on my way now to make another loaf - it is by far the best go to quick bread recipe ever. Give it a try, the sky is the limit on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMAPRIL99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
So good! I made them as muffins instead and they only took 30 minutes to bake. Also only used vanilla and sub'd macadamia nuts for walnuts. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imakejam
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This bread is FANTASTIC!!! I used unsalted real butter since I had that on hand and it came out great! My step-daughter had a piece and said "OMG, this is my favorite!" Might go a bit scant on the 1/2 tsp. almond extract. Other than that, absolute perfection! Glad I tried it. This one is definitely a keeper for holiday mini loaf gifts. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Yum. I used 3/4 cup of Splenda instead of sugar and used unsweetened coconut. I found the amount of cherries a tad too sweet so I would lower the amount next time. But overall, this loaf is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Excellent! I made the variation with lemon zest, as I didn't have the cherries, and the combination of flavors is sooo good. I also used whole wheat pastry flour, left out the walnuts, increased the coconut, had over a cup of mashed banana, and decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup. It was still plenty sweet and had a very moist texture. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I was bored with reading how good this was, but I want to tell everyone out there. I made this recipe as stated and it IS the BEST I have EVER eaten...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is a really simple recipe that can be easily adjusted depending on your tastes. I replaced the butter entirely with sweetened applesauce to cut the fat, and used yellow sugar instead of white for a little extra flavour. I replaced the cherries with strawberries, as that was what I had around the house. I did find the coconut flavour a bit over-powering, though, so I think in the future I would use a cup of strawberries and a cup and a half of banana, and reduce the coconut by a half. I would also like to try it in the future using raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Once again I am not sure if I should even review the recipe or not because of the many changes that I made but the 4 stars are for the coconut/banana combination... I love banana nut bread and I love coconut and I have never thought to put the two together??? The combination is delicious! So for those who are interested the changes I made were to use all whole wheat flour, canola oil instead of butter (no cholesterol) and I didn't use the whole amount stated in the recipe, 3/4 cup cane sugar, 1/2 a cup of fat free yogurt instead of two eggs (again no cholesterol), and vanilla extract instead of almond. I now have a much healthier recipe with absolutely no reduction in taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe is loved by my kids. The only adjustments I made were to use a heaping half-cup of coconut and I also added a half-cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was awesome and I will definitely make it again. I did not have walnuts on hand so I used pecans. I might try macadamia nuts next time - especially if I plan on serving the bread to guests (not sure if my family is worth of macadamia nuts – ha!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States