Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have made lots of banana bread recipes and this one just wasn't very good. The only thing I didn't do was add the cherries. I was really looking forward to this but was disappointed. There was not enough banana flavor and I couldn't taste the coconut. I used unsweetened coconut flakes and maybe I should have used sweetened. Overall, this was a bland quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was delicious! The coconut gives it a tropical flavor, which is nice for a change. I have made it twice now, used walnuts once and pecans the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. Nice change from standard banana nut. Did some slight changes with moist and flavorful results. Eliminated fat replacing with non-sweet applesauce; used 1/4 ts each of these flavorings: coconut, vanilla and banana; substituted cherries with 1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries; reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. As the author suggests, this recipe can easily be modified. Looking forward to making more using dried pineapple or mango for a tropical taste. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very tasty and moist.. Fun to make and even more fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I followed this reciepe to a tee. However, I did leave out the nuts as the kids are not allowed any nut products at school. This loaf came out perfect, so I'm making loaf #2 today, I only made the first loaf a couple of days ago and its gone. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
REALLY good banana brea with a twist. I used the 1/2 cup each of brown and white sugar and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla as others suggested. I also omitted the cherries and used "flaked" organic coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Best

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
WOW!! Way better than the same old banana nut loaf! I didn't have cherries but that's the only ingredient I left out. I also used half butter, and half apple sauce. I cut the almond ext. to 1/4 tsp plus I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and vanilla too. Baking time was almost exactly 50 min, and totally moist on the inside (which is exactly what I was looking for in a banana nut recipe). I couldn't wait the ten minutes cooling time before I had to dig in. The smell from the oven brought everyone to the kitchen. AWESOME RECIPE!!! This is now the only recipe I will use for banana nut bread. I might even try to use slightly less sugar next time. It's a big hit in our house! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was the first recipe I've ever tried from allrecipes with HUGE success. I took the suggestions from others to reduce almond extract to 1/4 tsp and add a tsp of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. I ended up using 4 medium sized bananas which yielded slightly more than 1 c. I left out the cherries and nuts and baked for an hour. It was absolutely perfect. My husband and I both loved this recipe and I will definitely use it again. It was delicious warmed up on its own or with butter or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very tasty and a nice alternative to regular banana bread, but I'd make a few changes next time. I'd cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, cut the almond extract down to 1/4 teaspoon, use unsweetened coconut, use pecans or macademia nuts, and replace the maraschino cherries with either pineapple chunks or dried cranberries that have been presoaked. Also, this loaf didn't rise at all after baking...not like I was expecting. This didn't bother me at first, but then it even sank a little after cooling. Will still make again with modificaitons, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
So Delicious. This will be a frequent receipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States