Banana Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very nice bread. A little sweet for me, but I'm a bit of a sugarphobe. It does look very pretty. Oddly enough, my bread took a lot longer than stated--about an hour and 20 minutes. I guess I'm had the opposite problem than other reviewers who felt it could come out more quickly than the recipe stated. It must all be because our ovens are different. Other than decreasing the sugar a tad, I would make this again without major changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Excellent! Followed recipe only exchanging the walnuts for pecans. The cooking time was too long. I put it in for 50 min and it could have come out at about 45 minutes. Coconut is subtle and the cherries gave a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! It is so much more flavorful and exciting than regular banana bread. I did make a few small changes. I left out the cherries, used sweetened coconut, subbed pecans bc I didn't have walnuts, and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. It turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
SOOOooOo moist and delicious!Didnt add the cherries but other than that followed the recipe exactly. WOuldnt change a thing. Took it over to parents house and they loved it. Will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Love this recipe - Thanks.. I don't add walnuts or cherries but do add saltanas and sometmies chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and mine cooked in 45 minutes.. I really loved the coconut added into this recipe.. It was fabulous :) thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Wittie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I really enjoyed the extra layer of flavors in this unusual banana bread. I toasted the coconut and pecans that I used in lieu of the walnuts. Other than that I made as is. Used 4 very ripe small bananas. I do think next time I would use at least 1/2 C of brown sugar instead of all white. I think that would compliment these flavors better. This was done in exactly 1 hour. Smells awesome too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My husband said I should never use another banana bread recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made this as muffins and reduced the cooking time. I really liked them. I was skeptical because of the cherries, but they added a really good flavor that was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have made lots of banana bread recipes and this one just wasn't very good. The only thing I didn't do was add the cherries. I was really looking forward to this but was disappointed. There was not enough banana flavor and I couldn't taste the coconut. I used unsweetened coconut flakes and maybe I should have used sweetened. Overall, this was a bland quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States