Banana Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Finally success! I've tried several banana cream pies but they've all been lacking - either didn't set up right or used too much corn starch or fake stuff like pudding mixes and cool whip. This is just right! The custard has a nice, mild flavor that blends well with the bananas. The lemon juice on the banana slices is a must! Otherwise they turn brown and look gross. The only negative would be that coconut and banana together was a bit much. Next time I will make it with just banana. Also, use real whipped cream - it's definitely worth the little bit of extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I seriously wish without a doubt wish I could give this recipe 1000 stars because it was a hit! I made for a party and got a lot of positive comments. I even got a letter from someone saying it was the best pie they ever had! But I thought that the pudding mixture could have more coconut flavor so I added alittle more than a tablespoon of light coconut milk which added loads more of coconut flavor! If you don't have (light) cocnut milk, just add coconut extract instead! Maybe just a little more banana flavor, but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perika
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this in a hurry to quench my craving and loved it !! The banana and coconut compliment each other so well. My family loved it. Defiantly making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Making for the second time by request of hubby! Sue my recipe says cook for 10 minutes and that is about right. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This pie was a GIANT hit, everyone loved it I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Followed exactly.it did not state temp or time to cook filling.I used medium heat,whisking to keep from sticking.its been 7 hrs but it has not set up.have to try another recipe.very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This pie was delicious! I used a cooked pastry shell instead and it was perfect. It was quick and easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is really good but is vastly improved with the following: 1. Add 2 tablespoons of dark rum to the custard mix -while cooking. 2. Add 1 chopped/minced banana to the custard mix - after cooking. 3. Make your own graham cracker crust - be sure to add nutmeg to the crushed grahams. 4. Add tablespoon of dark rum to the fresh whipped cream topping. 5. After icing with whipped cream and sprinkling copiously with toasted coconut, rim outside of pie with layer of banana slices on edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I always get compliments when I make this pie. Simple yet something different. The hardest part is not burning the coconut while toasting...opps, there I go again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
LOVED it & recommend a little more clarity on the cooking time for the new bakers. I started w/ toasting 1 cup coconut for 5-7 minutes in oven at 350. When combining ingredients together-turn temp to medium-high heat, and use a whisk. Add egg yolks slowly (whisking the entire time you add them). Then, bring heat down to medium heat and begin whisking constantly for about 5-7 minutes or until thick and bubbly 4.) Gently fold in butter, vanilla and roasted coconut. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Wrap with plastic wrap (Custard sometimes has a top layer of film on it & plastic wrap will easily lift it) Let it cool for at least 3 hrs. Then top w/ whipped cream , 1/2 cup of additional roasted coconut & bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States