Banana, Chocolate, and Almond Breakfast Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I gave this 3 stars because I think a recipe should be rated AS IT IS, and as it is it's too sweet and rich for most people. I tweaked it a bit and thought it was great, and if you want to make it healthier, you can make these changes: reduce the sugar to 1 T as it is really way too sweet otherwise, and sub the sugar for artificial stevia-based sweetener; reduce cocoa to 1 teaspoon and add a scoop of chocolate whey protein. That will give you the right macronutrient balance between carbs and protein, in case you are like me and oatmeal without more protein will leave you with low blood-sugar or hungry within an hour or two. Use skim milk or almond milk ---- it works just as well. In sum, here is what worked for me: old-fashioned rolled oats: 1/2 cup with 1 cup skim milk, mixed with 1 teaspoon cocoa, the almond extract, and 1 T Truvia (Krisda is the same thing if that's what you have in your area). Mixed together and microwaved on medium for five minutes. Stirred in 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder and the banana afterwards, along with the almonds. If the oats seem watery add a bit more whey protein. Ate with 1/4 cup almond milk and it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was pretty good! My only critique is maybe use less almond extract, it seemed to over power this a little bit. It does work out if you use regular white sugar (I didn't have turbinado sugar). It made the house smell really good too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crinni_Cooper-Static

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I can't decide what I think of this...I felt like I was eating No Bake Cookie "batter" for breakfast (which made me want to add peanut butter). I skipped the banana because I don't care for them and I think it needs banana to add a but of sweetness. If I made this again, I'd probably add cherries to replace the bananas. THANKS for the recipe, Lissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this once as written and it was bitter, but I could taste the potential. The second time, I used half a frozen overripe banana and a few dark chocolate morsels, plus the oatmeal and water. It was fantastic this way! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this for myself and my sister... we liked having chocolate for breakfast, but the almond extract was a little too much. I used brown sugar since I didn't have turbinado. Still, I would try it again minus the extract if I'm craving chocolate! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was an awesome recipe, but my mom thought it was too rich. I'm 11, and I would have given it 5 stars. We didn't have turbinado sugar so we used white sugar instead. We also didn't have almonds so we used pecans. I'm guessing you could use any nut. This was the best oatmeal I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I am a chocolholic, and this recipie is FANTASTIC!!!! I made it for my kids for a special SUnday breakfast, and even my picky son ate a whole bowl of this. It IS really rich, but if you like rich, then it is perfect! Tastes like warm chocolate pudding. Would even be a good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Instead of turbanado sugar, I used honey in it's place. I also used old fashioned oats only because that was what I had on hand. I shared this with my oldest son--we both thought this was very good. My banana was quite ripe so the honey might not even be necessary next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is a really good recipe, but I also found it rather rich for breakfast. I do love all the flavors but I think I'd cut back on the sugar and use less almond extract (or maybe just use vanilla instead). The cocoa powder is also a bit too much for me in the morning so I'll cut back on that as well. This is definitely a great recipe, I'll just tweak it for my personal tastes. Thanks a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States