Banana Chocolate Chip Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This is a terrific recipe. I didn't have the 10x15 jelly roll pan, so I made it in a 9x13 pan. I had to leave it in the oven for about 10-15 minutes longer, but the result was a moist, banana-y, cake-like dessert! I didn't even need to serve it with the recommended chocolate sauce and whip cream! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was wanting something a little healthy but not a bread since my husband doens't like banana bread, I tried this dessert and it was delicious! I did use 3/4 cup and 1 tablespoon of applesauce instead of butter and 3 egg whites instead of 1 egg. I also used 3 really ripe (almost black) bananas and lowered my sugar to 1/2 cup of each. I used a bar pan and the bars came out moist and more like a bar with a little cakey spring to it. My husband loved it and my son devoured his. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is now what I make every time I bring a dessert into my daughter's class, she requests it as well as all her friends. It's kind of nice to bring to school something other than cupcakes and cookies. Works well if you use whole wheat flour, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe is a real winner. I think I will always consider making it when I have ripe bananas. It's a cross between a chocolate chip cookie and banana bread. I didn't have a jelly roll pan and wanted a thinner bar-type dessert so I spread the batter in a cookie sheet. I baked it for approx. 7 minutes less than the recipe calls for. Also I stored the bars in between layers of parchment paper in an air-tight container to keep them from sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I wasn't paying attention and mixed all the ingredients together at once. And I don't own a jelly roll pan so I used a 12x7 baking dish. They still came out great! You can't go wrong with this recipe. It was gone in a day. A great recipe for old bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I cooked mine in a 9 by 13 pan for about 30 minutes. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet & garnished w/ a dollop of whipped cream & a sprinkle of mini-chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
At first I thought these would not turn out. The sides were getting done too fast so I tuened the heat down. I had to bake mine for probably twice the time on the recipe - but my friends all LOVED them - I left out for them and I even got a message on my phone telling me how great they were! I used a chopped up milk chocolate bar instead of semi-sweet chips and it sunk a little to the bottom and made the best chocolate layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is a very tasty bar recipe. Easy to make and really good refridgerated. I put chocolate chips on 1/2 of the top while it was still warm and then spread them over the top when they melted as a quick icing. They turned out amazing with and without the chocolate. Really good recipe for using up bananas. Went like crazy at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I always think it's funny when people say how much they like a recipe, then tell all about how they completely changed it into a new recipe...but now I'm guilty :) I found out I had only half the usable amount of bananas I thought I did (more ripe than even I thought), so I used half mashed banana and half applesauce - and I did 1 cup white flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour..and added a T of veg oil to give it more of a cookie texture (some reviews made it sound more like a banana bread.) But it still came out quite banana-ey, and yummy! Even my dh, who says he hates bananas, likes them :) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Just like what the other review said, this tasted like banana bread with chocolate chips. I thought the chocolate ruined it. Maybe white chocolate chips or walnuts would be better. Terrible combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamesn71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States