Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Very good recipe. I read the reviews first though and made the following changes - used only 1 teaspoon of baking powder and also split the 1 cup of white sugar to be 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also used 1 1/2 cups of mashed bananas - 3 ripe bananas. These cookies were very moist, very cakelike and gone very quickly! Extra chocolate chips never hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I'm eating one of these fresh out of the oven as I type this..... These cookies are wonderful! My sister made cookies like these when I was little, but she doesn't remember making them anymore and I could never get the recpie from her. These are almost exactly them.... I made these with milk chocolate chips (compliments the banana very well), reduced the baking powder to 1 1/4 tsp, and used 3 (about 1 and 1/4 cups mashed) very ripe but NOT brown bananas... I couldn't wait for them to ripen that much ;) The banana flavor is delicate, but definitely there.... I think those who want a more banana-y flavor may want to try replacing some of the vanilla with banana extract. The cookies do have a slightly "muffin-y" texture to them... but don't let that put you off of trying them. I've never had muffins as good as these cookies. (also, I baked these on parchment paper, and found they rounded themselves out reasonably well - better than it sounds like they did for other with just an ungreased pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Excellent cookie!Used parchment paper rather than greased pan. Added Dutch chocolate sprinkles. Dough is a little sticky and is easier to handle when chilled. Cookie stays moist and doesn't spread while baking.Increased banana to 1-1/2 cups and flavor is still subtle.Decreased baking powder to 1 tsp.Used 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar.My family loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I made a few adjustments (1/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, low calorie butter, 2 bananas instead of 1, 1 cup chips instead of 2) to make them a tad healthier and they still came out great. I really enjoyed these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Excellent recipe! I needed to use up some old bananas and these cookies were perfect! I added some walnuts in addition to the choc chips. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
These cookies taste great and the recipe makes a large batch which is great because everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
These cookies are very cakey. You will not like these if you like gooey cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very Yummy. The only changes I made was to substitute the sugar with Splenda, put carob chips instead of chocolate chips, and I halved the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. They are still coming out of the oven, batch after batch, and my 5 year old son is eating them up! He's had 2 so far, and loves them. These are nice puffy cookies that would be GREAT with a cuppa tea. I will be using semi sweet chocolate chips next time I make these because I love the two flavours together and carob just doesn't do it for me. ;) I was trying to be healthy about baking. Is there such thing really? hahaha! Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We make these are stated and they are soft and chewy. We love these cookies and make them with rotten bananas often! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I found these cookies to be okay. I used the correct amount of bananas and still the flavor isn't that significant. I don't think I'll make these again. I'll probably try out the oatmeal/ banana cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States