Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Just baked these, they only took 10 minutes. Definitely cake-like. I used 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp. banana, next time I would use all banana. My bananas (3 medium) were not completely brown, but covered in brown "freckles" and very soft. Still not much banana flavor. Also, you need to really make the bananas into mush, if there are any chunks they will burn. I got about 65 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Wow. These are great! They remind me of little muffin tops, so if you're not into chewy/cake-like cookies...these are not for you. I also halved the baking powder, did 1/2 cup white sugar; 1/2 cup brown sugar and I added 3 very ripe bananas (I didn't measure). I left my oven at 400 and baked them for 12 min on my stoneware, which generally adds more time onto my cooking time...so, for me, the oven temp was good. If you're using a reg cookie sheet- maybe turn the temp down. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anniemac7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
everyone i have shown this too has loved it. if i need to use bananas out of my freezer here is where i come, hubby loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitakennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These are really good. Something different than using over ripe bananas is bread! As others stated, I used 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Used 3 ripe bananas. Instead of 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips, I used 1 cup semisweet chips and 1 cup peanut butter chips. Bananas, chocolate AND peanut butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These are cakey cookies--which are very good, but I was glad to have the heads-up! I also used 3/4c. sugar and substituted semi-sweet chocolate chips for peanut butter and chocolate chips. Very yummy! My kids keep coming back for more. A nice alternative to banana bread when you have ripe bananas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Delicious! I did turn down the oven temp to 375 right before putting them in, and I only baked them for 10-11 minutes because I was using dark cookie sheets (and my husband is picky about brown cookies). I made no changes to the ingredients. They turned out cakey, moist and beautiful. Normally my chocolate chip cookies come out flat, but these puffed up nicely and stayed that way. They are not strongly banana flavored, but the banana may become more dominant as they cool (as I have only had them warm from the oven so far). A definite keeper recipe for any black bananas no one will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potatokat7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used 1/2c white sugar and 1/2c brown sugar. They were pretty sweet so I will try reducing a bit next time. Definitely not a tradition cookie...more like a muffin top. I would suggest taking them out of oven after 9min. I would have burned them to a crisp if I left for the full 12-15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I tried this today for the first time. Because many other reviewers said that the texture was soft/cakelike/muffin-like, I went ahead and put the batter into metal cupcake liners rather than prepare them as cookies. The result was marvelous -- yummy soft chocolaty muffins with a surprisingly strong banana aroma. If you make them this way, they yield about 24 muffins and need a couple of minutes more in the oven (test with a toothpick). Thanks, Evelyn Brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
After reading some reviews I also changed up the recipe, splinting the cup of sugar to 1/2 each of white and brown sugars. I also used 4 ripe bananas. The first dozen out of the oven were a little more done for my liking do I dropped the temp to 375 and cooked them for 10 mins. They were perfect. This recipe only makes about 3dozen. They were gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Ok cookies but nothing compared to original toll house cc cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States