Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Opted to make these into bars - spread the batter in a greased 13 x 9 pan and baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Turned out great! As others suggested I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp and 1 c of rough chopped bittersweet baking chocolate. Next time I'd like to toss in some coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Switched to half and half whole wheat, decreased sugar and added stevia. Added a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of cardamom and increased the baking soda by a hair. I reduced the chocolate chips slightly because sometimes with smaller cookies the chips dominate or fall apart. I know,how can I rate a recipe when I changed it so much? They tasted great even though there was less sugar. Salt seems critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe! My mother made these when I was growing up, and they bring back awesome memories. I used three super ripe bananas that I had frozen, I think that they were frozen may have added additional moisture that made them need to cook slightly longer... I read so many people saying they were burning... And I don't get it. I listened to reviewers and cooked the first batch at 350 and the cookies took 20 minutes! 400 degrees was perfect... You just need to use a light colored pan, not one of those heavy dark ones. And this is a cookie that is MEANT to be cake like! That should be clear from the ingredients... Just don't eat this with expectations of a "normal" chocolate chip cookie, its not supposed to be that, no matter how badly you want it to be. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esmeliu
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Delicious recipe. Very easy to make. However, I think 15 min of baking is a little bit too long. I baked the first tray of my cookies around 13 min and found then to be a bit over baked. I adjusted to 11-12 min and it went well. The cookies were softer than I expected, but the flavor was great. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was better and the banana flavor was more obvious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carol7
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved these cookies.I put even more bananas and they were absolutely delicious ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol7
Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I was looking for something to do with my ripe bananas other than a quick bread. My interest was piqued when I saw this recipe because hubs had been requesting chocolate chip cookies. The color turned out light even though I split the sugar between white and brown. In my opinion they were on the bland side. However they have a nice texture. More cake-like. I suggest you watch your oven temperature. I had to reduce mine to 375 degrees after the first batch, as the bottoms were starting to brown too quickly. Next time I'll add a teaspoon of cake spice or cinnamon to the batter for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Just a bit too cakey for my liking - but the kids loved them. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Just made these and they were pretty good. I read many reviews and made the following changes. 1/4 tsp baking powder, brown sugar instead of white, 1 egg, 1 cup of chopped nuts. I used a silpat on a dark cookie pan so I lowered the temp to 350 and cooked the full 12 min. I also flattened the dough before baking to make them less cake-like. Tried the first batch and thought it a little "flat", so mixed in some chunky peanut butter. They were much better. This makes a lot, I got 7 dozen using a small cookie scoop. I am sure my grandkids will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Louise
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
These turned out very cake/muffin like, but have I nice flavor. I prefer less cake like cookies, but these are still pretty good. Changes I made: 1 t baking powder, subbed 1/4c nectresse for the sugar, used 1.5 c all-purpose and 1 c whole wheat flour, used 2 bananas (slightly less than a cup mashed), added a small splash of almond flavoring, and used 1/2 cup butterscotch chips and 1/4 c sweetened coconut flakes instead of semi-sweet chips. I also let the batter sit in the refrigerator for a while to make it less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
The recipe is just right!!!!! My daughter loved them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States