Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The first time I made these exactly as written and my family loved them! Yes, they are cakey cookies but seriously they are like eating chocolate chip banana bread but in cookie form. I did find that 400 was too hot with my oven, I lowered it to 375 and that was better but I was able to get great looking, nicely cooked cookies with an oven temp of 350 baking them for 10-12 minutes. I made them again and added some variations: added in a few tablespoons of ground flaxseed, 3/4 tsp cinnamon and using half whole wheat flour and brown sugar in place of white. They turned out great! I love recipes I can play with and add in my own variations. I will definitely make this as written and with my own changes when I feel so inclided! I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
yummmm.... doubled the batch...used giradellli choc chips AND cinammon chips...added a tsp of cin and a tsp of cloves to the batter....after the first batch was done - turned the oven down to 350....found the 400 was a bit much for all those chips.... and i repeat....YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is fantastic! I didn't have sour cream and I had promised my class banana bread so I went searching and found these! I wasn't sure at first because there wasn't any brown sugar (which is needed for a real chocolate chip cookie) so I put 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It turned out good and I am confident my class will agree. One of the best cookies I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was surprised by the high temperature and long cooking time listed for these cookies. I baked them at 350 and they were done in 7-8 minutes. I used Reese's peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips. Used 3 bananas..didn't measure them. We liked the cookies okay. I think adding some chopped walnuts might be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These are great! I tried them without eggs and the tasted more like muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Opted to make these into bars - spread the batter in a greased 13 x 9 pan and baked at 375 for 35 minutes. Turned out great! As others suggested I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp and 1 c of rough chopped bittersweet baking chocolate. Next time I'd like to toss in some coconut too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Switched to half and half whole wheat, decreased sugar and added stevia. Added a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a pinch of cardamom and increased the baking soda by a hair. I reduced the chocolate chips slightly because sometimes with smaller cookies the chips dominate or fall apart. I know,how can I rate a recipe when I changed it so much? They tasted great even though there was less sugar. Salt seems critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe! My mother made these when I was growing up, and they bring back awesome memories. I used three super ripe bananas that I had frozen, I think that they were frozen may have added additional moisture that made them need to cook slightly longer... I read so many people saying they were burning... And I don't get it. I listened to reviewers and cooked the first batch at 350 and the cookies took 20 minutes! 400 degrees was perfect... You just need to use a light colored pan, not one of those heavy dark ones. And this is a cookie that is MEANT to be cake like! That should be clear from the ingredients... Just don't eat this with expectations of a "normal" chocolate chip cookie, its not supposed to be that, no matter how badly you want it to be. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esmeliu
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Delicious recipe. Very easy to make. However, I think 15 min of baking is a little bit too long. I baked the first tray of my cookies around 13 min and found then to be a bit over baked. I adjusted to 11-12 min and it went well. The cookies were softer than I expected, but the flavor was great. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was better and the banana flavor was more obvious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carol7
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Loved these cookies.I put even more bananas and they were absolutely delicious ;))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol7
Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania

Displaying results 21-30 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States