Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Okay flavor, but too cake-like for a cookie. Recipe might have worked better as muffins or possibly as banana-chocolate chip bread. If I make this recipe again I might try cutting down on the baking powder and/or baking soda to see if it makes these cookies less cake-y. Also, when I baked these, the edges got too dark almost to the point of burning, even after only 12 minutes of cook time. I would advise either turning down the oven temperature a bit, or lessening the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Really just tasted like baked bananas in a puffy chocolate chip cookie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I agree with those who didn't care for the texture of this cookie. I wanted to try it because it sounded like it might be delicious, but I'll probably not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I followed some of the changes that others gave this recipes, The cookies are ok. but they came out like chocolate chip cakes, and even using 1 1/2 cups of bananas still didnt any banana flavor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I followed the reviewer's advice to do half white and half brown sugar, and to use 3 ripe bananas. The taste is very good, but using the recommended baking time and temperature, they burned on the bottom but were still gooey in the middle. I recommend dropping the temp to 370 and keep your eye on them at 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, producing a cake-like, moist cookie so delicious they're addicting. Works very well in high altitude. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great cakey texture. Easy enough for an unskilled baker like myself. Banana flavor could be a little more obvious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great recipe!! I made a few changes. I was out of butter so I substituted butter flavored shortening. I cut the baking powder down to 1 tsp. Instead of a cup of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I upped the vanilla to a teaspoon and a half. Added dark chocolate chips, crushed walnuts, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of ground cloves and a half tsp of cinnamon. Mmmmm : ) I think I've found my go to recipe when I have overripe bananas!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Unique flavor that's enjoyable. Cake-like takes a little away from it for me, but still an enjoyable cookie. I used small ice-cream scoop and smashed scoops down on cookie tray to reduce puffiness of finished cookie. Don't forget to turn heat down for non-stick pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Living In: Toddville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Pretty good. Was out of parchment paper so my cookies were a little burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States