Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this cake today. I baked it in a 9 X 9 pan, and I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, used 3 large bananas. baked for 40 minutes in 350 oven. it's great without icing! it's a dense cake but is sweet and I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Amazing!!! I always substitute baking soda for baking powder- the same amount as the recipe states. Comes out nice and fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made this exactly like the recipe states and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. It was a big hit. I made this in a loaf pan and baked it for 50 minutes. Wow....so good and moist. Great way to use up those ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Loved it. I was afraid that the bananas would gaste too strong so I added a little more chocolate and it worked! I would just add more banking powder so that it grows more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is a good recipe. I read reviews and decided to use vanilla in the batter and I had some white chocolate chips that I used with the semi sweet. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and didn't double it at all but I used an 8 by 8 pan and with using that I got the cake to be thicker rather than thin. Using a 9 by 13 is guaranteed to give you thin cake unless you double. Doubling isn't necessary if you use a smaller pan. The bake time was right on at 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
OMG!! this is a wonderful recipe!!! i enjoy it alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I thought this was very good! I followed the advice of the top reviewer and increased the sugar to 1 cup, used baking soda instead of baking powder, added 1 t. vanilla, 1 cup chocolate chips and baked it in an 8x8 loaf pan. It turned out great--except for one thing that was entirely my fault: I used 4 mushy bananas and the middle was a little undercooked after 40 minutes. If I had used less banana it would have cooked solid in the middle. Still, it is excellent and I will make this again and again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except for changing the baking powder to baking soda as so many reviewers suggested. I did not increase the sugar, as others did, and found the sweetness to be perfect. I had 4 small bananas (VERY ripe) to use up and they measured out to 1 1/3 cups, so they all went in. Baked in the pan called for and liked how it turned out, similar in height to a sheet cake. I checked it at 25 min. and was glad I did because it was totally done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I give this recipe 4.5 stars. Like Sara, I also increased the sugar to 1 cup, and used 1 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it in a 9 inch pan lined with parchment for easy removal when it was done. I frosted mine with some leftover butter cream icing made with cream cheese. It made for a nice topping. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debjani Bhattacharya
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This a wonderful recipe. I made some small changes in the recipe by adding three bananas and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. The cake came out to be fluffy with mild flavour. We all enjoyed the cake. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States