Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Okay, so I made some changes after reading all the other reviews, and with these changes, this cake is amazing!!! Here are the changes I made: 1 cup white sugar, 2 large bananas, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 1/2 cup butterscotch chips, used baking SODA instead of baking powder, and sprinkled powdered sugar on top after it cooled. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes in an 8x8 pan. Everything else was the same as the original recipe. The cake came out super moist, thick (not thin), and tasted delicious. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I did not read the reviews before I made this, so my "cake" did turn out a little thin, HOWEVER, this is a really good, quick dessert. I was invited for dinner and wanted to bring something. Everyone seemed to like this. Changes I made: I used two large bananas, which equaled about 1 1/2 -2 cups mashed bananas. I used one full cup of sugar because usually banana bread isn't sweet enough. I added about one teaspoon of vanilla. I also used about two handfuls of milk chocolate chips. I don't like the semi-sweet. I had no complaints and the chips really gave a good twist to regular banana bread. With the additions, it was plenty sweet and very, very moist. I had to bake it the full 35 minutes, almost 40 minutes, due to the additions. As a rule, I always set my timer about ten minutes early because you never know about your particular oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Excellent! This turned out wonderful! Be sure to read the reviews, though. I doubled the recipe to make it more of a cake rather than the bars like other cooks were doing. I topped it with chocolate frosting and sprinkles. Very fun and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Very good dessert. It is a thin cake, for a normal cake thickness I would recomend doubling the recipe. By using chocolate chips there is no need for icing. I did add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. And I used baking soda not baking powder. All homemade cakes call for baking soda, it works much better than baking powder as a leavener. For example, I made a homeade chocolate cake and by accident used baking powder instead of baking soda, and it came out very thick like brownies. When I made that same cake again, I used baking soda and it was a cake consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used three mashed bananas, I didn't measure out a cupful. I just opened three and mashed those. I also used part of a leftover can of fat free evaporated milk and mini chocolate chips instead of regular. One of the better banana breads I've had in a long time. I made muffins out of this recipe and I did NOT get 24 out of this recipe, I got 12 and they were a little on the small side. 350* for exactly 20 minutes and they were perfect. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I made this recipe as is, except for putting it in an 8x8 pan. It turned out just fine. Plenty of banana flavor, more than enough choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I enjoyed this cake. I, too, had problems with it not being enough batter to make a "real" cake; it resembled bars. If you want more of a cake, then either make 2x the recipe or bake it in a smaller pan (8x8 square would suffice). I was happy with the bars, though, and I will definately make this again. I may try a cream cheese frosting in the future, although it tastes good without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I think the secret may lie in using bananas that are NOT overripe. I can't believe how fast and easy this recipe is, and the choc chips did not get mushy or sink to the bottom! A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9 by 18 pan for about 10 minutes longer. This is the best banana cake I've ever had. I didn't even have to frost it, and it was so moist! I used barely ripe bananas, so it wasn't too sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I just loved this cake! When it cooled, I poked holes in it, and then poured chocolate pudding on top (instead of frosting). I put it in the refrig until the pudding set. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States