Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Hmmm, made this following the recipe, I doubled it and used 5 medium size bananas... Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was great! I too used baking soda and 2 bananas. My cake was not thick but it was super moist. Baked it for 20 minutes. Yummy. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My husband had seconds and texted me the following day from work to tell me how awesome this cake was. I did double all the ingredients and used a total of 3 large, over-ripe bananas. I used a bundt pan, which took about one hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I just made this recipe, although I took one reviewers advice and used an 8 x 8 pan. I also used dark chocolate chips, since that's what I had on hand. I was trying to use up bananas that were overripe. It took 2 of them to make the cup called for in the recipe. I was very happy with the end result. I plan to cut it up into bars, much like brownies, and serve it up that way. Yummy. And a good way to use up bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I used the changes recommended by Sara. I accidentally overcooked it about ten minutes and it STILL came out very good. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA
Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Just made this cake and it turned out great. My husband said it was really good and agreed with me even better tomorrow. I used an 8 x 11 pan instead of 9 x 13 after reading several reviews. This is the only change I would make to this recipe. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIZCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This dessert is absolutely amazing! My guests all had seconds and probably would have had thirds if I had any left. Following the advice of other reviewers, I used a 9x9 cake pan and changed the following ingredient amounts: 1 cup white sugar, 2 large bananas, and baking soda instead of baking powder. I sprinkled each piece with powdered sugar. My only concern is that my chocolate chips all sunk to the bottom and middle of the cake. Overall, the chocolate sinking didn't really matter, because it tasted fantastic! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
pretty decent used the baking soda instead of powder and added chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. Very Good there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I followed this recipe but made the following customizations: ~Instead of 1/2 cup butter, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. ~I also added 1/4 cup peanut butter. ~I used 2 small & 1 large ripe bananas. ~I used baking soda instead of baking powder. This made 12 standard size muffins and an 8x8 (although it was a little shallow) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake33
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puhutes
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Been making this recipe for many years now. I rarely use chocolate chips. Normally I add oats and/or chopped nuts. I also sub approx. half of the flour for whole wheat or spelt flour. I squish the bananas with my hands together with the egg and some vanilla extract. If the bananas are really ripe, I add a lot less sugar. The banana bread always tastes amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States