Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Turned out nice and moist. I followed some other reviewers' advice and used baking soda instead of baking powder. I used 2 bananas. I baked it in an 8x11 dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Do not bake this cake in a 9 x 13 pan as the recipe states. It spreads out too much resulting in a flat, thin pizza-like cake. I used an 8x8 pan. I also cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and substituted dried cranberries for the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 01buckler15
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Update, I've made this one a couple of times and the kids absolutely love it every time. If you use over ripe bananas it is plenty sweet, in fact I lowered the sugar in mine the second time….. I used two small bananas and added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, added a tsp of vanilla and used baking soda instead of baking powder. I also subbed half the flour for whole wheat flour and made it into muffins instead of a cake. It turned out light and fluffy making 12 muffins. It is plenty sweet so there is no need to add more sugar or chocolate chips. I did however use over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 01buckler15

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aji
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe. I made following changes...added 1 tsp vanilla, used 1 1/2 tsp baking soda (no baking powder), used 2 bananas, used 1 cup sugar, added a bit more chocolate chips, baked in an 8x8 pan for 40 minutes. It's yummy!! Next time I will add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now (with the changes recommended in the reviews), once as a 9-inch round cake and once as cupcakes (12 total). Both times it turned out incredibly delicious, moist and fluffy. Who needs banana bread when you can have banana cake??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Fantastic doubled the recipe and made a double layer version with a vanilla cream cheese icing covered in walnuts... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was SO good and incredibly easy to make! I will definitely be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake. I made a couple of modifications based on other reviews: 1c sugar (2/3 white, 1/3 brown), some chopped walnuts, a splash of pure vanilla extract, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I used two very ripe bananas and made it all in the food processor (wet first, pulse until puréed, then add dry, pulse just until mixed, then stir in choc chips and walnuts). The only change I'd make next time is to stick to the recipe's recommend 2/3c sugar, as it turned out a bit too sweet for my taste. Otherwise I found it moist and delicious with awesome banana flavor and texture. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! Forgot to mention: I made this in a 9 in round cake pan instead of 9x13. It rose well and was definitely more cake than bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Excellent! Used others suggestions...1 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup choc chips, 1/2 cup butterscotch chips and baking soda instead of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhc
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Wonderful! I followed suggestions and used 1c sugar and 1/2 c milk chocolate chips and 1/2 butterscotch chips. I also used a non-bleached flour. It was fantastic! Very flavorful, light and moist. A great way to use up brown bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States