Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
great cake! I used 3 large bananas and baking soda instead of baking powder as other suggest. Baked in a 9" round pan. so moist and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malenloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is really, really GOOD. I did tweak by adding 1 tsp vanilla, switching to baking soda instead of powder, upped the sugar to 1 cup and used milk chocolate chips since I don't care for semi-sweet. And since I don't have an 8x8 pan I used a 9x13 and it's definitely thin but that certainly doesn't detract from the incredible taste and moist consistency. I had two bananas and rather than measuring, I just used those and you can taste the banana. I'll get an 8x8 and use it next time but this cake would taste great no matter what the shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I tried a healthier version, and it is fantastic. Insted of 1.5 c of white flour, I used 1/2 c. white, 1/2 wheat flour, and 1/2 c. flax seed. I used only 1/c c. of sugar. I also added a bit more bananas. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I doubled the recipe, put it in a bundt cake pan, cooked 60 minutes or so. My 4 sons said they prefer this to all other cake recipes. It doesn't last 10 minutes -- they can't wait until it is cool! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pragget

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great recipe! The only problem I have is my son has stopped eating the bananas with hopes that I will make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good topped it off with choc icing very yummy. Only use a 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This HAS to be made in a different pan!!! I made this exactly as the recipe states, and it was only an inch tall, if that. The taste was good; the texture was moist. It just wasn't that thick. IF I make this again, I'll make it in a 8x8 and see if it is better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made this with Splenda and SF chocolate chips...it came out great, very moist and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
One word - Delicious! The only change I made was adding additional banana -- probably 2 1/2 cups total. Definitely comes out as a bar and not a cake but that is what I wanted. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I tried this recipe after I read some of the reviews. It's a very simple, easy recipe to follow and a snap to put together in a hurry. Like the other reviewers I made some slight changes. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, a cup and a half of bananas and a cup of milk chocolate chips. I used the other ingredients in the amounts listed. I also used an 8 x 8 inch pan. I had to cook it a bit longer than called for in the recipe, but the cake came out very moist and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States