Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is an excellent and easy recipe as it stands, with no changes... except the pan size. If you want "cake" you should either double this recipe to fit in a 9x13" or use the recipe as is, in a 9x9" pan. If you put this amount of batter in a 9x13", it will be very flat and turn out more like bars than cake. People have changed the baking powder to soda and I am not sure why one would do that? The baking powder (which already has baking soda in it) makes the cake rise nicely and that amount of straight soda makes it more salty and a bit bitter. I doubled this recipe and baked it in a 9x13" pan for about 40 mins. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
When I baked this cake my mom was all over it!!! The only thing I changed was adding a little less sugar and less chocolate chips. But, overall it was very tasty for the first time making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Great Recipe - I did double the recipe for a 9x13 pan as other reviewers suggested and added Vanilla. This came out wonderfully. It did not need frosting and was made with basic ingredients that you have in the cupboard - Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was great and easy!!!!!!! I did not use all the butter, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup apple sauce, also used fat free milk, and dark chocolate chips, and used 3 bananas. So good served with fat free cool whip, thanks for the recipe. Update from 04/19 made cake again but this time frosted with chocolate frosting, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Add nuts to the top, not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Horse Cave, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
A great snack for the kids lunches! Easy! I didn't change it because I wanted the bar size and not a cake:) Double for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made this tonight cause i had bananas to use, so i tried this recipe, and used Sara's alternations, plus i put a 1/4 c each butterscotch, chocolate, and PB chips, with 1/2 cup walnuts. My husband just test tasted it and said it was DELICIOUS(he's my ginny pig :) Great recipe, would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
The bread comes out smooth and very moist! I followed the other review's suggestion of replacing baking powder with baking SODA. I'm not quite sure what big of a difference it makes, but I trust her anyway. This is definitely a keeper :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe. p.s: my mom claimed its better than Starbuck's or any other banana breads she have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDstephanieRW

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wow,Such a good recipe,follwed other reviews. I had a craving for banana chocolate cake and here is what I did. I used 1&1/4 cup of flour followed by 1/4 cup of cocoa/coco powder.As per other reviews 1 cup of sugar,1 tsp vanilla,BAKING SODA Instead of Baking powder,2 big bananas. Yes thats it.... It was amazing.soft fluffy Yummy yummy cake.Will make again & again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States