Banana Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This cake is fantastic!!! I changed a few things, as other's had mentioned - I doubled the recipe, added 2 tsp's, of vanilla, baking soda instead of powder and I used a stick of regular salted butter and 1/2 Cup of oil. I baked it in a bundt pan for close to 60 minutes. It's very moist, flavorful and delicious. I will be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Ruley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I live in japan and don't really have access to alot of easily accessible baking goods like I did back when I was home in Canada so when I found this recipe, I had all the ingredients on hand except the choco chips but desperately needed to use my two ripe bananas. One ingredient that I took with me was good ol baking powder but didn't think about bringing soda thinking they would have some here but boy was I wrong. So finding a recipe with baking powder was also a mission. You also may not know this but we don't have ovens here, none of the apartments or houses come with one , it's like a luxury here so I rely on my Oster oven. I was pretty worried about using the baking powder since everyone was posting about using soda instead but I had faith in this recipe. I made it with little exceptions besides adding some vanilla and a scoop of peanut butter since I didn't have any choco chips. Baked it in a small round cake pan I think it's around 8 inches and it turned out pretty good! I would probably give it a 5star when I make it next time with choco chips and more bananas! Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is superb! I was forced to make a couple alterations, but it still turned out great. First of all, I doubled the recipe but didn't have quite enough bananas, so I used about 1/2 cup crushed strawberries to make up the amount. I ran out of milk so I used evaporated milk instead. I followed the advice of other reviewers and substituted the baking powder with baking soda, and added a bit more sugar than was called for by the original recipe. I also added vanilla as well as mixed spices for taste. I made cupcakes (baked for about 15 minutes). Just took them out of the oven and they are absolutely YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As written, this cake turns out very flat llke a big cookie! It's delcious, though. I frosted it w/chocolate frosting. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenny27
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Yumm! I've made a lot of different breads and cakes with banana but this is the best one ever!! My husband and I had eaten the whole cake within two days. I made it in a 9x9 pan and it turned our perfect. next time I'll experiment with using 1/2 applesauce instead of the butter to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisner, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
excellent recipe! i cut down on the bananas and used only 2 (mashed 'em really, realy well).instead of chocolate chips, i used a bar of normal milk chocolate - broke it into smaller bits with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My family loved this recipe! I doubled it, used baking soda instead of baking powder, and added a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla, then baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for an hour. (check with a toothpick). It sat for about 10 min., then I turned it out onto a cooling rack and dusted it with powdered sugar. So pretty!! Also, I used 5 ripe bananas that had been in my freezer, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I also used baking soda instead of baking powder. I took this to a bbq and it was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe, I was surprised with the flavour, considering I did not add spices! I doubled the recipe. I may add vanilla next time, but not necessary. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is the easiest cake recipe I've ever made! I've now made it 3 times and each time everyone loved it! That said - I took everyone's advice and used a smaller pan or doubled the recipe when I needed. I have it in the oven now and can't wait to have some. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States