Banana Chocolate Chip Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I tried this and it was amazing. Very moist. I did tweak a little by adding vanilla, nutmeg, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar and two kinds of chocolate chips, semi sweet and dark chocolate. My family can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe worked out really well as muffins. I baked them for 22 minutes at the prescribed temperature. Very moist and fluffy. We'll make them again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Super moist,easy, delicious and fast !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Everyone in my family LOVED this recipe. After seeing other reviews, I did use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. My preference is to not add any more than the one tsp. of cinnamon, or it overtakes the other flavors in the recipe. This is a wonderful and delicious recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed everyone's advice and added half brown sugar, vanilla, and less cinnamon. I think a tsp of cinnamon would have been fine, I couldn't taste it at all 1/2 a tsp. However, I didn't have a glass pan like it suggests so I used a metal one. The outside crust got a little too done before the inside was done. The crust was just harder than would be ideal. It wasn't burned tasting or anything but I'd suggest maybe a cooler oven for longer if you use metal. This was delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I tweaked the recipe to be dairy free. I found one review that said instead of 1/2 cup butter, she did 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 yogurt. I don't do dairy, so I used a vegetable based butter and vanilla soy yogurt. I also did what many of the reviews said and used a combination of brown sugar, but instead of white, I used raw sugar. I also through in dairy free dark chocolate instead of semisweet chips. The bread is really good and it baked really well! I only needed 60 minutes. I'm happy it turned out so well without using any dairy based products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Easy to make, crowd pleaser. I have been looking for a banana bread recipe forever that would turn out moist and have some extra "pizazz", like the flavor from the chocolate. This is definitely a winner, and if I can make it, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkmtc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Didn't change a thing in the recipe other than making them as muffins. I baked fro 24 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie
Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I revised the recipe like many others, adding 2 teaspoons of vanilla & changing the sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I didn't have a glass pan so I used an aluminum pan. I greased the pan very well but the bread stuck to the bottom of the pan. The bread tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This bread was excellent. I also followed everyone's advice and used 1/2 brown (I actually used dark brown) and 1/2 white sugar. I added a 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon, 2 teaspoons vanilla and used 4 bananas which I believe made it just that more moist and delicious (not to mention I had 8 bananas I wasn't going to eat and didn't want to throw away 2). I ended up making 2 loaves and added walnuts to one. Lastly, I used a metal pan coated with unsalted butter for each loaf, turned the oven off at 55-60 minutes and let it continue baking while cooling which prevented the burnt or hard outside while also not sticking to the pan. I will definitely keep this as a favorite and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States