Banana Chip Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Yummy muffin. 4 stars because I changed a few things based on other reviews. Added 1tsp vanilla and cinnamon. Used 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1/4. Used extra chocolate chips and banana. Next time I may add a little more vanilla but these came out really good and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a terribly difficult recipe to rate. As written, I believe it worthy of 3 stars. I subbed buttermilk for the regular milk and added about one half extra 'dead' banana because I simply didn't want to throw it away and I also added one tsp. vanilla extract. With those changes, the chocolate chips completely dominated the banana flavor. The muffins weren't bad, but the title is completely deceiving and the bananas were a waste of money, time and trouble. When I read several reviewers who stated that they added cinnamon to the batter as well, I liked the idea but just not in the muffin itself with everything else I *thought* would be going on--it seemed like one too many ingredients and a real hodge-podge of flavors. Then it hit me! I topped the muffins with the crumb topping from "Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake" (also on this site) which, with it's addition of cinnamon, single-handedly turned this recipe around. I filled the cupcake liners half full--which yielded 14 muffins rather than the original 12-- made a double batch of the crumb topping and added about a tablespoon and a half of the topping to each muffin. They baked up beautifully at the same temperature and time setting as directed in the original muffin recipe. I had about a quarter of the crumb topping left, baked it on parchment paper right along with the muffins and am having dreamy visions of vanilla ice cream with cinnamon-y crumb topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Did not like. Thought it would be great because of all the high reviews, but I agree with the other reviewer who said the texture was more like bread. Maybe it was because I used whole wheat flour, but I don't usually have that problem when making banana bread. Maybe this recipe just calls for too much flour. Anyway, I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made these muffins an hour ago, and they were DELICIOUS! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and vanilla extract as the other reviewers had suggested. I will keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These were pretty good- they weren't quite as cake-like as I expected, but they had a nice muffin texture. I made mine in the giant muffin tins, and they cooked through in about 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennygevans
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These turned out really good with a few adjustments. I added 1 tsp each of vanilla and cinnamon, and I also upped the milk to 1/2 cup. I used mini chocolate chips, and double the amount to 1 cup. I used the 1 cup of mashed bananas, but next time I will probably do more. I cooked for 18 minutes, and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennygevans
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Really amazing texture - light and fluffy. I think you have to use really ripe bananas though to get a more intense banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
These muffins are really dry. One reviewer said they were like bread rolls--I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I really seem to be off my game with my baking lately. It's either me or my stupid oven. I can't figure it out. I followed this recipe exactly only adding 1/3 c. of pecans and a little more milk to compensate. I must have overmixed because they came out with high tops and twenty minutes was WAY too long for these to bake. I should have checked on them. I'll leave my recipe as is until I can try these again and have a more accurate baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Purrie
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
First time with this recipe, I do not have choc chip. So, I put almond instead. Others are same as indicated with 25 mins baking time. It turns out a bit burn and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States