Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Great recipe. What I did was reduced the baking powder to a teaspoon, added more banana, and upped the chai. I took the advice of some of the other posters and when I added the chai, I warmed my pre-packaged chai and added three chai teabags to strengthen the chai taste. Interesting recipe, but surprizingly wonderful. I recieved many complements on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I made this for some of my friends at work, and it was a big hit. I raised it to a 1/2 cup of chai (the powdered kind) which made it very moist and lovely. Also, the cream cheese made little cream cheese blobby pockets randomly, which were so delicious! Served with strawberries and coffee, this was really fantastic, so easy and rewarding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Great recipe. After I made it Talia's way I substituted Fat Free Cream Cheese and a Fat Free Egg Substitute. I also halfed the flour with whole wheat. Few people believe me when I tell them the recipe is nearly fat free (about 1.5 grams in the loaf from the bananas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong here, but I followed the recipe exactly and the bread came out bland and VERY dry...I only baked the bread for 50 min. instead of 60 - and still over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
I am at college and I made this recipe without spending one cent (I got some Chia tea bags for Xmas from a friend) - I am so proud - I never cook! It looks great, but I should have let the tea get stronger - can't really taste it, but I drank a lot of tea while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This bread was great but I could not find the type of chai tea that you brew, only the liquid form - but it still turned out great(just used it in the recipe straight out of the carton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This is bready rather than moist, but nice nevertheless. The chai must get VERY strong before you can taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
I haven't tried baking this bread yet but I wanted to know if you can use the Chai tea that they sell at Costco. Any comments is appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Good bread, but I didn't make the tea strong enough. It tasted strong when I brewed it, but the chai flavor was masked by the other ingredients once I mixed it in. Anybody know the ratio of water to chai tea leaves necessary so the tea is strong enough to taste in the baked bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Absolutely delicious. I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts into the mix which turned out great. People definitely get confused when I tell them that there is brewed tea inside (I have to admit, I didn't understand how to do it for a long time, then just decided to pour the water into the mix, filtering out the ground chai).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States