Banana Chai Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The bread was very moist but a bit too dense & sticky for my liking. Not bad though! You definitely don't taste the chai. I also wondered how much tea I would need to get the chai flavor, and used 1/2 c of brewed chai (straight tea, no latte mix) with 5 teabags. If you want more of that chai taste, you're probably better off creating a spice mix and using that instead or in addition to the tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
A very tasty, moist banana bread, but as many reviewers mentioned, not much chai flavor. I super, duper soaked the tea bags based on other reviewers suggestions and still felt it needed more spice additions. Still, though, worth making again as a tasty, gooey banana bread. One thing that was not clear to me is if the chai should have been brewed with milk or water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was tasty stuff. I added a bit more chai tea mix for extra flavor but other than that kept the recipe the same. I made 2 mini loaves and put one in the freezer for later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I think this is a really good "beginning" recipe. Next time I will make a few changes: 1. Add more bananas. Even with mine being very over ripe, I couldn't taste much banana flavor. 2. Add more chai. I brewed VERY strong chai, and I still couldn't taste it much. Next time I want to brew some strong tea and maybe add some of the instant Chai mix from Tastefully simple. 3. Don't overmix! I like the more breadlike consistancy, but mine were almost too tough. I will hand mix in the dry ingredients next time so I don't overwork the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyTheChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I get rave reviews anytime I take this bread anywhere. People always ask how I get it so moist. The only thing I change is I do not brew the tea and I use straight chai mix no milk. I have been making this for years and love it. Best banana bread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dixon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very Good Banana Bread. Not much of a Chai taste at all, though. I might try it with instant Chai latte (powdered, you can get it at Starbucks). Thanks for the inspiration!! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I substituted "Good Earth Sweet and Spicy" herbal tea.... used 1.5 cups mashed banana, and substituted 1/4 splenda and 1/5 cup granulated sugar. I added 1 tsp each cinnamon and allspice. By preparing it this way 1/12 of loaf contains 1 gram fat, 1.3 grams fiber and only 145 calories. My loaf was done in 45 minutes.......I will most definitely make this again.... and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Couldn't really taste the chai tea but it was lovely anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was a good starter recipe... but it needs something extra. First off, more banana! I like a lot of banana in my banana bread. I would up the amount to at least a full cup, if not more. Second, I would use both the tea and some additional spices... I made a very strong cup of tea, and put in a bit more spice, and I still couldn't taste it. Overall, the bread was pretty good, other than those two things, which are easily fixed. I'll most likely try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Love this recipe--a really great bread comes out, though I would hesitate to call it serious banana bread or say the chai flavor comes out that much. I used the chai concentrate SKIDZ7 explains in the Coffeebar Chai recipe on this site (no milk added--I was hoping the spiciness of the chai would come out more that way). Either way, a great tasting loaf. Though as others mentioned, I did reduce the cook time by about 10 min and I'm glad I did. The cream cheese really comes through to give it a wonderfully different texture. I did throw about a quarter cup of walnuts in as well just because I love that extra crunch in any fruit/veggie loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States